Musings on Photography

About those photos…

Posted in web issues by Paul Butzi on April 9, 2007

Joe Reifer has a post on his blog, which quotes the same Thoreau passage as this post on this blog, asking a question about how well the quotation goes with my photo (and with Joe’s).

I just thought I’d mention that, unless the photo is specifically mentioned in a post I make, the selection of which photo gets put at the top of the post has nothing to do with the text in the post. 

Sometimes I have a queue of photos I’m planning on using, and I just use them up in order.  Other times, the queue is empty, and I just go back to my web site, and pick one that I think I haven’t used before.  There’s certainly no attempt to pick photos to illustrate or complement the text in the posts.  Mostly I just pick a photo that catches my fancy, for some reason, or I pick the next one in a sequence that I’m confident hasn’t been used recently.  Picking photos to go with the text of the post just seems like real work.

If it seems like the photo goes well with the text, it’s all Jungian synchronicity.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rosie Perera said, on April 9, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    Thanks for the explanation. I had wondered about the apparent random repetition of some of your images (the W-shaped tire tracks in the snow, for example, which came up again recently but which I’d seen before; and at least a couple of other repeats I think I’ve noticed).

  2. Paul Butzi said, on April 9, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    Yeah. Repeats. Repeats are a result of the fact that sometimes I just don’t remember what I’ve used, because there’s no organization. So I go scrolling through a pile of images, and one catches my eye, and it’s the one that gets used.

    No deeper meaning there, beyond the apparent fact that it caught my eye more than once.

  3. Joe Reifer said, on April 9, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    All this time I was reading into the matching of images and words — I thought you were still “Shore bashing” with the pond image/Thoreau quote combo. Maybe subconsiously?

    In any case, it got me thinking about how much words can change your interpretation of a photograph.

    Cheers,

    Joe

  4. [...] I pointed out in this post, unless it’s specifically mentioned in a post, the photo at the top has no particular [...]


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

