Musings on Photography

The odyssey

Posted in local color by Paul Butzi on December 23, 2008

5D-081025-6626.jpg

For those of you who were on tenterhooks, wondering if Greg would get home in time for Christmas, I’m happy to report that yesterday morning he got on a plane in Rochester, NY, and that plane carried him to Washington, DC. From there, he got on a plane that took him to Philadelphia, PA. He sat in the airport in Philadelphia for six hours, then got on a plane that took him to Las Vegas, Nevada. In Las Vegas, he never even got off the plane, and about 40 minutes after landing it took off again, and flew to Seattle.

He left his dorm room at 4am. We got home from the airport at half past midnight. Given the three hour time zone shift, he’d been on the go for 23 and a half hours. By modern standards, taking 23.5 hours and four plane flights to get from Rochester to Carnation makes it a the sort of journey where you expect to hear about Scylla and Charybdis, the Sirens, Polyphemus, etc. By the standards of not very long ago, it’s breathtakingly swift.

So much of our experience is a matter of perspective and expectation.

I was very much afraid I wasn’t going to get what I really wanted for Christmas. But Em and Greg are here. I’ve got everything I want, and we have yet to open any presents. Dr. Suess was right. Christmas doesn’t come from a store.

Much snow still on the ground, here. But last night the snow was menacing and intimidating and making me worry about getting to and from the airport. This morning, it looks like a lot of photographic activity. There’s that perspective and expectation thing again. I suppose there’s a lesson for me in there, somewhere.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anita Jesse said, on December 23, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    Thank you for a gentle, but effective reminder to tweak my perspective. I find it can do with periodic calibration.

    Congratulations on getting what you most wanted for Christmas. Have a wonderful family time.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

