Musings on Photography

More Adobe Nightmares

Posted in Adobe InDesign, photoshop by Paul Butzi on May 29, 2010

ra-100421-0768.jpg

Ok. So I’ve upgraded my main photo computer to Snow Leopard. Everything seemed pretty much a-ok until I went to run InDesign CS3. InDesign complained “Some files required for color management are missing. Please re-install the application to ensure proper functioning. Ok, not a problem, I thought. I broke out the InDesign CS3 DVD, and I popped it in the computer, and started the install. It went along for a while, slowly reinstalling InDesign. And then it ejected the InDesign CS3 disk, and asked me to pop in the Photoshop CS4 DVD.

Which I did. It proceeded with the install for a while, then it ejected the Photoshop DVD and asked me to put in the Indesign CS3 disk. I did that, and it proceeded, slowly, to install. And then it ejected the InDesign CS3 disk and asked me to put in the Photoshop CS4 disk. I did that, and it proceeded to slowly install, and then it ejected the Photoshop CS4 disk and asked for the InDesign CS3 disk. I gave it that, and it proceeded, slowly, to install. And then it ejected the InDesign CS3 disk and asked for the Photoshop CS4 disk. So I took out the InDesign disk, and put in the Photoshop disk. And it proceeded with the install for a while, then it ejected the Photoshop DVD and asked me to put in the Indesign CS3 disk. I did that, and it proceeded, slowly, to install. And then it ejected the InDesign CS3 disk and asked for the Photoshop CS4 disk. I put in the Photoshop disk. It proceeded with the install for a while, then it ejected the Photoshop DVD and asked me to put in the Indesign CS3 disk. I did that, and it proceeded, slowly, to install. And then it ejected the InDesign CS3 disk and me to put in the Photoshop CS4 disk. I obliged. It proceeded with the install for a while, then it ejected the Photoshop DVD and asked me to put in the Indesign CS3 disk. I did that, and it proceeded, slowly, to install. And then it ejected the InDesign CS3 disk and asked for the Photoshop CS4 disk. Again, I made the swap. It proceeded with the install for a while, then it ejected the Photoshop DVD and asked me to put in the Indesign CS3 disk. I did that, and it proceeded, slowly, to install. And then it ejected the InDesign CS3 disk and asked for the Photoshop CS4 disk. In a superhuman display of patience, I swapped disks. It proceeded with the install for a while, then it ejected the Photoshop DVD and asked me to put in the Indesign CS3 disk. I did that, and it proceeded, slowly, to install. And then it ejected the InDesign CS3 disk and asked for the Photoshop CS4 disk. And then I swapped the disks. It proceeded with the install for a while, then it ejected the Photoshop DVD and asked me to put in the Indesign CS3 disk. And then it finally finished the installation.

I had to insert one or the other DVD a total of 17 times. Mind you, there were only TWO disks.

This is not just stupid. It’s irritatingly stupid, but that’s not all. It’s appallingly stupid. It’s staggeringly stupid. It’s stunningly stupid, and after a career in software development, I have to say that it takes quite a lot to stun me anymore. It is, perhaps, the most stupid software install behavior I’ve seen in the past ten years. Stupid, Stupid, Stupid, Stupid.

As you can imagine, during this process, I was increasingly motivated to say rude things about Adobe, Adobe employees, Adobe Software, the genealogy of Adobe employees, and what, in a just world, would happen to the folks responsible. I described how long it would take to mop up the undifferentiated amino acide goo that resulted. I invented new bad words, and then used the new words along with my quite sufficient store of old bad words to say things that would, if words could affect material things, have scorched the paint off the walls and set off the smoke alarm. I invented 12 entirely new languages completely devoted to ways to say nasty, brutish, and vulgar things about Adobe, and then I used each of those new languages until I got tired of them.

The dog howled, then cowered in fear, then hid in the bathroom and repeatedly flushed the toilet to blot out the sound of my swearing. Outside, trees shattered, the ground opened in yawning chasms, and violent earthquakes threatened to provoke Mount Rainier into violent eruptions, all because of the rude vulgarity of my language. The skies overhead turned from robin’s egg blue, to a dark and somber grey, and then to a greasy dark green, and repeated long flashes of lightning shattered the unearthly dismal darkness. Over the shrieking maelstrom of wind, the poor innocent residents of Carnation could hear the churning of the world’s oceans. And all this because of the extremity of the language I used.

And then. And then I put the InDesign CS3 disk in its case, and the PhotoShop CS4 disk in its case, and I made sure that Photoshop still started up. It did. So I made sure Bridge started up, and it did.

And then I started InDesign CS3, and it told me that “Some files required for color management are missing. Please re-install the application to ensure proper functioning.”

It might take me a day or two to cool off enough to call that pathetic excuse for customer support offered by Adobe. Until then, I spend time searching for alternatives to every piece of Adobe software I use. I am sick to death of this. Their software, for all that is the market dominating stuff and is the ‘gold standard’, has pissed me off, and this time it may have pissed me off so much I am actually motivated to hunt down some alternative.

I hope the folks working at Adobe and owning Adobe stock get exactly what they deserve. And I hope they get it good and hard, and I hope they get it for the next fifty years, nonstop.

23 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael said, on May 29, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    http://www.scribus.net/ – InDesign

    http://www.inkscape.org/ – Illustrator

    http://www.gimp.org/ – Photoshop

    http://www.aptana.org/ – Dreamweaver

    All free open source programs.

  2. StephaneB said, on May 30, 2010 at 2:12 am

    Had a good laugh, sorry. I have tried to find alternatives and utterly failed. I only use PhotoShop and Bridge. On Windows, it seems Acdsee could be a better alternative to Bridge, if it is only for Photography. On the Man I have not found a single thing, except maybe LightRoom 3, which does nothing to avoid Adobe and is not even totally convincing as a Bridge replacement in my opinion. iView might be a contender now that its Mac future seems to be secure.

    To replace PhotoShop appears simply impossible. LightZone has nowhere the reliability and richness of PhotoShop. And on the MAC, er… what else is there? GIMP is a joke for photography.

    I installed Windows 7 on my iMac via Bootcamp to check it out and took the opportunity to give a try to PaintShopPro. There is no way I’d spend money to buy that when I already have a working licensed PhotoShop.

    I don’t think we have that many options.

  3. alofsm said, on May 30, 2010 at 7:20 am

    Aperture?

  4. StephaneB said, on May 30, 2010 at 8:48 am

    Aperture, well. I bought Aperture 1 and 2 and did all the upgrades. It is mostly very good but extremely slow with the large files that film scanning generates. Mac OS X gives me more trouble recently than the older versions. Windows is becoming quite good with 7. All in all, with Apple getting more and more consumers and phones oriented, I became nervous on depending on Apple. Aperture 3 was the last step to make me drop it. Its local adjustments system is very awkward and the face recognition feature is just plain silly and shows a disturbing trend to orient their so-called pro software towards consumers as well.

    The latest ACR and LightRoom 3 Beta also have a vastly superior raw converter.

    And in any case, if Aperture could be considered a Bridge replacement, it is nowhere near replacing Photoshop.

  5. docmoore said, on May 30, 2010 at 10:11 am

    So,

    Having used ID CS4 for over 6 months with Snow Leopard without any error messages I would suggest that you uninstall both ID and CS4 and then do full reinstall….then run the Adobe updater. Repair privileges.

    If that does not work I can recommend ID Suite CS5…also no problem here with SL.

    Bob

  6. Don said, on May 30, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    I think that is why I miss the 70’s when I would drop the Agfa slide film in the mail

  7. Jim said, on May 31, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    Did you install Rosetta with your install of Snow Leopard?

    http://www.infoworld.com/d/mac/dont-panic-adobe-cs3-runs-snow-leopard-254

  8. Alex Brikoff said, on May 31, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    It really is too bad that there isn’t another product out there that could be considered the industry standard in the digital imaging world. In the free market world such as it is, there really should be another product that we could consider as an alternative to Photoshop. No one should have to go through so much aggravation as Paul did to install two software products that should work seamlessly together. I’ve never used ID with PS, but after Paul’s experience with them, it definitely doesn’t make me want to go running out to get it.

  9. doonster said, on June 1, 2010 at 12:46 am

    Laughed so hard, I cried. But I sympathise with your plight.
    It’s amazing that the same company can sell a decent program like Lightroom: fairly resource light (works on a Netbook), only connects to the internet if I tell it to, doesn’t phone home every 5 minutes, no unexpected background processes, free updates, apparantly easy licensing. Has a couple of memory leaks but I don’t think Adobe will ever fix those in any program. It’s almost like Lightroom comes from a different company compared to the evil corp responsible for Flash, Reader, Acrobat & the rest of the PS suite.

  10. Adam Maas said, on June 1, 2010 at 6:15 am

    The sad part? The problem is mostly Apple’s. Apple broke colour management on Snow Leopard and it’s still not entirely fixed. They also broke a fair number of applications if you do an upgrade.

    Bob’s got the right of it. Uninstall both Adobe applications, repair permissions, reinstall them both, run the updater, repair permissions. That should unbreak what Apple broke.

  11. Paul said, on June 2, 2010 at 8:18 am

    With all that you went through, I couldn’t not even imagine uninstalling/reinstalling anything. Go for a walk with Kodak!

  12. StephaneB said, on June 2, 2010 at 8:38 am

    “The sad part? The problem is mostly Apple’s. Apple broke colour management on Snow Leopard and it’s still not entirely fixed. They also broke a fair number of applications if you do an upgrade.”

    I thought something similar but was not sure enough to write it. for my part, Leopard was worse thanTiger and Snow Leopard is giving me a worse experience than Leopard. So much so that I used bootcamp to create a Windows 7 partition on my iMac. Can’t believe I did that. Have even more trouble believing I have fewer problems and more possibilities with Windows 7 than with Snow Leopard. And Windows 7 takes half the memory Snow Leopard takes.I switched to Mac OS 7 years ago. Not sure if my next machine will be an Apple one.

  13. Mike said, on June 3, 2010 at 7:30 am

    If you’re going to use Windows you could try out Digital Light and Color’s Picture Window, (http://dl-c.com) which comes in two colors – pro and standard, neither of which is overly expensive. They also have great support and user forums. I used it with pleasure until my PC packed it in and I moved to the Mac platform. If it weren’t beyond me I’d probably try to run Windows on the Mac just for this piece of software. ACDSee has made their browser partially available for Mac. It’s in beta phase at the moment.

  14. Hugh Alison said, on June 3, 2010 at 8:54 am

    Picture window pro is very good and very cheap – it had decent 16 bit editing before Photoshop. Windows 7 is pretty good as well.

    Speaking as a PC user, so this might not be possible with a Mac – couldn’t you either copy both DVDs to the hard disk before starting the installation, or temporarily add a second DVD drive?

  15. StephaneB said, on June 3, 2010 at 9:23 am

    Picture Windows Pro has one major flaw: no adjustment layers. Each operation creates a new generation of the file. It is like an infinite undo, but not more. This alone puts PhotoShop in a different class.

    I used Picture Windows Pro before buying PhotoShop. Once I understood what adjustment layers are, I never even imagined to go back to any software that does not have them.

  16. Mike said, on June 4, 2010 at 5:51 am

    PS layers are nice, but you do a transformation in PWP and live with it or chuck it and do the action again. It’s so quick and there’s seldom a need to “redo” it. You can always keep “in-between” files if you like. There’s much less overhead and the program loads lightning fast – PS is a slow coach in comparison.

  17. David Kwett said, on June 16, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    BTW, Apple just released a Snow Leopard update, OS X 10.6.4. Among the notes: “resolves an issue that may prevent some Adobe Creative Suite 3 applications from opening”.

    Could this be related?

  18. Frank said, on June 30, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Unfortunately it seems that you simply have to be running CS5 with OS10.6 to keep it all harmonious. On the plus side, $1000 later I can report no outstanding issues, color management or otherwise, it works very well.

    But even doing a straight upgrade to CS5, the Adobe installer and Updater still is ridiculous.

  19. marty schreiber said, on July 11, 2010 at 9:08 am

    You guys are talking about real problems in Snow Leopard. my final attempt with Apple Support techs, to get my nice HP B9180 8 ink pigment photo printer to work with PS CS2 and the very sweet PS “plug-in” that comes with the printer software…”your printer is not compatible with Snow Leopard”.
    I was stunned…but I accepted their honesty and got my daughters old windows Vista laptop going with the HP printer disc (which includes that bitchen little plug in for CS 2!!! Now I am printing gorgeous 13×19’s with predictable color and smooth workflow. btw, this little mac mini with Snow Leopard is my very, very 1st experience with Apple…I must say, I am extremely disappointed and want to return the unit….not happy with Apple. (the previous poster who tried 17 times to install Adobe Software on his mac did not seem unhappy with the real culprit…..Apple??? ciao, marty mechanic dba “Pacific Photos”…santa cruz ca.

  20. marty schreiber said, on July 11, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Hi again, it is me, marty…..I did due diligence with the upgrade from Apple to 10.6.4 and also scoured all the official HP websites HP updates or for HP guys who were probably working double shifts trying back in Sept ’09, to rectify the many, many problems…when the “blogs” started showing up with unhappy “campers” with Snow Leopard and HP printer and scanner problems. In fact there was this one HP software guy who seemed to be an un official “Apologist” for HP…this guy was so cool, but “In a Tight Spot” (Oh brother where art Thou”)
    I have now googled and read thousands of pages of blogs relating to photographers in disbelief that the “Sacred Cow”, Apple, could release something with so many printer, scanner bugs. most Apple “loyalists” simply were, and are still in “denial”.!!!!!
    I have no loyalty to Apple…. I am a car mechanic by trade, so, I get paid to fix stuff that does not work….I just went back to microsoft for photo work, ciao, mm.

  21. Daniel Sach said, on October 25, 2010 at 6:38 am

    That will make you laugh when you look back but I can see how you wanted to kill somebody during the ordeal….Holy Schmoly!!!!!!! Too funny though…that must have been rough.

  22. Bruce McLaughlin said, on June 4, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    I can sympathize with your dreadful experience/ I have a PC running Windows 7 and recently added a Macbook Pro with a 27 inch Apple Cinema display, Snow Leopard and an external 2 terabyte drive. I have Light Room and CS 5 on both machines. I decided to add the Xrite color checker passport plug in to both machines. I had no problems with Windows 7 but the Mac was a nightmare. It refused to recognize the plug in. Most of the problem was probably my unfamiliarity with the MAC OS. I will say Adobe tech support was very helpful in finely getting it going. But the actual installation was problem free with Windows 7 and was anything but that with the Mac. One of the reasons I bought the Mac was I was repeatedly told it was much easier to use than Windows. So far I am finding the opposite is true. But that may not be fair because I am comparing 30 plus years of PC use to 6 months with the Mac.

  23. marty mechanic schreiber said, on December 15, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    Hi guyz…just wanted to weigh in on the Hp/Mac problems now 18 months later….I got out of the printer business….I dont print big prints anymore….Snow Leopard may have cured me wanting to print big….but I have changed my unhappy feelings for Apple Products…I apologize for being so harsh….now I have an iphone and found my mac makes great DVD’s from still photos….the IDVD is really cool and my mac mini has proved to be a great little unit….just sorry I was trying too hard to make the HP printer work in the familiar way it did with the xp windowz program….Apple is ok in my book…RIP Steve Jobs.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

