Musings on Photography

Recommended

Posted in Blogroll by Paul Butzi on June 16, 2010

ra-100428-0786.jpg

Three blogs I’d particularly like to recommend, because the photography on them has had me captivated for some time now.

Number one – Juha Haataja’s wonderful Lightscrape. This blog is the perfect answer to those folks who insist that great photography is about equipment. Working with a single digicam, Juha Haataja has been cranking out photographs that make me envious at an astonishing rate. Fabulous stuff.

Number two – Carl Weese’s Working Pictures. There’s an extraordinary directness to these photographs that I very much admire and wish I could get into my photographs.

Number three – Oren Grad’s Things Seen. Of the three, I’ve been avidly following Oren’s the longest. There’s some of that directness of vision in Oren’s photographs as well.

I often follow photoblogs for a short while (a few months, say) and then find that all the work blurs together and I lose interest. These three have not only held my interest for much longer than the usual time, but my interest has actually increased, and I when I see a new post pop up in my RSS reader for any of these, I’m always delighted at a chance to see the next photo.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Juha Haataja said, on June 16, 2010 at 10:14 am

    Wow! Your blog has been on top of my list for a long time.

    While thinking about my (very much still undone) SoFoBoMo project, I made a shortlist of my favorite photography blogs, and they are (in no particular order) the four following: yours, Mark Hobson’s, Andreas Manessinger’s, and Markus Spring’s.

  2. Cedric said, on June 17, 2010 at 3:22 am

    Thanks for these links Paul. I especially like the work of Juha Haataja (Lightscrape). Vibrant, clean, crisp, clever, fun… real nice.

  3. Ted Byrne said, on June 29, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    OK – I am ill mannered and rude And I am a thief. See, I’m one of those lurky people who visit here Paul, yet never… NEVER! drop a reaction into the stream of creativity you flow for us. And worse… I find myself thinking about many of your images as my own are burbling up, and probably those thoughts are influencing me… and those influences… that debt… goes unpaid. Sorry.

    In my defense, I’m convinced that inspiration is really permission. It says, “Hey Ted, look… you can see things this way. You can feel this way…” And that gives me a go ahead to grow into spaces that I’d never imagined.

    So, in addition to apologizing for not encouraging you with almost every new posting, let me thank you for all the inspiration.

  4. C. Wade said, on July 8, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    Great recommendations! I will definitely be pouring through these.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

