Musings on Photography

SoFoBoMo 2010

Posted in Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on July 15, 2010

ra-100701-0913.jpg

I’ve just finished my book for SoFoBoMo 2010. You can view it/download it here.

My experiment this year was to pick a subject that was a little different for me, and to see how relaxed I could make the process. I used the format I’ve used for my online portfolios instead of a more book-like format, and I deliberately didn’t stress (much) about the photo quality. The photos were (more or less) made in two sessions of a few hours each, with most of the photos coming from the first session. Having all the layout/design decisions already done made assembling the book itself a pretty brief task. I got some editing help from my friend Alex, and despite a few bobbles I had the book done in short order after that.

I think it’s interesting (and important) that SoFoBoMo is an event where the scale of the challenge is largely determined by the participants; it allows everyone who participates to decide for themselves exactly how and how much they want to challenge themselves. I had thought that the usual suspects have/are participating for the third year might feel things going stale but it’s been interesting to see how easy it is to find fresh challenges to address.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. doonster said, on July 15, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    I know what you mean about the size of the challenge. Now I’ve done all three years and 8 books, each different in content and layout, I feel I’m still only scratching the surface of the potential book making challenges for SoFoBoMo.

  2. Amy said, on July 15, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    These down-to-earth images have a comfortable and reassuring feel, Paul! Good choice of theme / atmosphere. (And I could have followed the painted yellow curb all day… that would have been an awesome book in itself!)

    Dang that M9 sure is nice! *envy*

  3. Don said, on July 16, 2010 at 10:49 am

    Very nice project, I hope to finish mine on time.

  4. Bahi said, on July 16, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    From here in south London, the photographs have an exotic-but-familiar feel. Few of the scenes would be considered quite normal in the streets but none are alien, either.

    The PDF made for an enjoyable and slightly curious journey. There was a distant, detached approach that made the viewing feel slightly awkward but in a way that I came to enjoy by the end of the book.

    I always follow your work here with interest, though I comment rarely. Thanks, Paul.

  5. Bahi said, on July 16, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    “in the streets”=> “in these streets”
    :)

  6. Juha Haataja said, on July 17, 2010 at 9:40 am

    I had a look at the SoFoBoMo book yesterday, and had to think about this for a while before being able to comment.

    Impressive work, somehow there is “abstract but concrete”, “fluid but sharp” content both in the photographs and in the book. A curious tension which I can’t really explain, but which invites further exploration.

  7. Greger said, on April 27, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Nice construction site there ;)


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

