Musings on Photography

Epilogue

Posted in Uncategorized by Paul Butzi on August 26, 2010

ra-100414-0700.jpg

Some combination of running out of things to say, a desire to sort things out privately for a while, some need for a different balance in my life, and general weariness with things internet has kept me from posting here for some considerable time, now. I may start other blogs, with different styles or different subjects. I have a handful of ideas for various bloggy experiments, and I might give one or two of them a try.

For now, though, my blogging experiment is ended. To all the folks who have been reading, my most sincere thanks. I’d be delighted to keep up email correspondence with any and all.

Gentle breath of yours my sails
Must fill, or else my project fails,
Which was to please. Now I want
Spirits to enforce, art to enchant,
And my ending is despair,
Unless I be reliev’d by prayer,
Which pierces so, that it assaults
Mercy itself, and frees all faults.
As you from crimes would pardon’d be,
Let your indulgence set me free.

William Shakespeare, The Tempest, epilogue

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Christian said, on August 26, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Honest, thought-provoking. Thank you for sharing your world.

  2. adam said, on August 26, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    paul
    I must say that I will miss your blog offerings. Perhaps it is because I find your thoughts are so alike to mine. We do share like backgrounds: strong engineering; a forestry, woodsy sort of appreciation; as well as the artistic, emotional involvement. I shall miss your “take” on things in general. I feel strongly that we are kindred spirits.
    Stay well,
    adam

  3. Gordon McGregor said, on August 26, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    When shall we three meet again?
    In thunder, lightning, or in rain?

    When the hurly-burly’s done,
    When the battle’s lost and won.

  4. Paul Butzi said, on August 26, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    The weird brothers, hand in hand,
    Posters of the sea and land,
    Thus do go about, about:
    Thrice to thine and thrice to mine
    And thrice again, to make up nine.
    Peace! the charm’s wound up.

  5. Cedric said, on August 26, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    “…general weariness with things internet…” I totally get that.

    All the best.

  6. Hugh Alison said, on August 27, 2010 at 2:58 am

    I too will miss your writing – some of the best thought out commentary on the web.

    My best wishes for the future,
    Hugh

  7. Juha Haataja said, on August 27, 2010 at 6:56 am

    Big thanks! (This has been a great source of insight.)

  8. Eric Jeschke said, on August 27, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Thanks for all the interesting posts. I enjoyed the ride.

  9. snoflo said, on August 27, 2010 at 9:52 am

    Somehow I knew this was coming. I wish, well..I wish all good things never end, but they always do. Somebody should fix that.

  10. SOS Chicagoland said, on August 27, 2010 at 11:04 am

    All the best in your creative endeavors! – John

  11. Paul said, on August 27, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    I shall miss you, Paul. Who’s going to be there to tell us about the insanity of Adobe or any other crazy customer service? Peace to you, my friend. Enjoy your next adventures.

  12. John said, on August 27, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    Thanks for the photos and the commentary. I have enjoyed it. Good luck sorting things out and I hope to see your work else where.

  13. Robert said, on August 27, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    Paul,
    I’ll miss your posts–they were always thoughtful. I wish you the best of luck… Keep me posted on your future endeavors and if you’re ever in Portland let me know.

  14. Mike said, on August 27, 2010 at 11:28 pm

    Thanks for the ride.
    &
    Looks like you’ve found a use for the Washington Monument!

    Cheers

  15. Amy Sakurai said, on August 28, 2010 at 8:27 am

    Thank you for all the photos, observations, insights, and candor, Paul! I’ve enjoyed following your journey and hope you are able to express your ideas in some new form on the web at some point. May you find contentment, enlightenment, and joy in all your pursuits.

  16. Don said, on August 28, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Great images and always enjoyed reading your thoughts on life as it goes on. My best to you.

  17. Bahi said, on August 29, 2010 at 1:42 am

    I’ll miss both the pictures and the writing. Thank you for everything you did.

  18. pgpgsxr said, on August 29, 2010 at 7:37 am

    Thank you for educating me on the spiritual and the quotidian side of photography, something which three years of photography college never managed to teach me! I wish you luck with your 10,000 hours goal and give Kodak a pat on my behalf.
    Paul

  19. Alex Brikoff said, on August 29, 2010 at 3:19 pm

    I’m sorry to hear that there will be no more “Musings on Photography”. I’ve always looked forward to your photographs and posts as being really insightful, poignant, educating and, most of all, really entertaining! Sorry to see you go. Good luck in future endeavors!

  20. Lois Elling said, on September 4, 2010 at 10:08 am

    I, too, shall miss your posts and photos. I always enjoyed reading them and they often sent me off in a new direction to learn more. Best wishes.

  21. Rodney Maraist said, on January 6, 2011 at 8:18 am

    Sorry to see you go.

  22. Lee Welton said, on May 12, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Bye :(

  23. beautifullife101Shaun said, on November 15, 2011 at 3:47 am

    I will also miss your posts. Very sad!!

  24. laty said, on March 5, 2012 at 9:59 am

    bye :(


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

