Musings on Photography

Shows

Posted in Uncategorized by Paul Butzi on November 12, 2006


Way, way back in 1996, I was thrilled to get work into my first show. I was happy to be preparing. I was happy when the prints went up, and I was sad when the prints came down.

Since then I’ve had work in dozens of shows. Most of them were a whirlwind of happiness alternated with panic, terminated by a firm conclusions that “I’ll NEVER do that again”. And then, a few months later, I’d be back at the beginning of the cycle again.

Things got better when I decided that I would aim for one show per year, and I’d just assemble a show out of what I’d done during the past year. That eliminates the panic part, although there’s often a last minute hysterical call to a friend to borrow frames, or mat board. But the crunch of getting the work done is now spread across the year. And sometimes, show opportunities drop in my lap, and I just take a few prints, frame them, and hand them over. No muss, no fuss.

But I still have the love/hate relationship with shows. I love seeing completed work on the walls. I hate mounting, matting, and framing a pile of prints. I like the thrill of delivering prints, but I hate artist’s receptions. I like the feeling of accomplishment I get from getting it all done. But no matter how efficient I get, after the show, I end up thinking it wasn’t worth the time, effort, and cost of mounting the show. It takes a few months before I can look back and see that the yearly show provides motivation I’d otherwise be lacking.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Karl Zipser said, on November 13, 2006 at 1:12 pm

    I always find shows to be a good impetus for work. Lately I’ve been working primarily on commission. This is also a great way to get motivated. But I miss the celebration feeling of having a show.


Comments are closed.

