Musings on Photography

Show Preparation

Posted in process, shows by Paul Butzi on January 19, 2007

5d-070119-3504-600.jpg

Well, the (ahem) unusual weather (snow and ice and below freezing temperatures) have meant that I’ve spent a week doing nothing much but sitting around thinking that it’s not worth putting the chains on the car and then taking them off just to drive down to town and do things like shop, etc.

And the result is that a) I didn’t get a chance to get together with a photographer friend to go over my editing for the upcoming show, and b) I haven’t actually done the editing.  Or rather, I’ve done it, and then I’ve looked at it.

And, as is usually the case, when I put all the prints in a row and looked at them the overweening gnawing fear set in, and in the time it takes to drink a cup of tea, I’ve convinced myself that it’s all crap, and that if I hang it, I’ll suffer mortal embarassment and will have to become even more reclusive than I already am.  Oh, heck.  It’s not just crap. It’s meretricious crap.  How in the world did I ever think this was any good?  Why the heck didn’t my friends who reviewed this stuff just tell me it was crap?

So now, here it is, another week shot to hell and I’m no farther along, and I just realized that I don’t actually have enough damn foamcore to mount and mat 20 prints, and I need blades for the mat cutter unless I can find the @#$%^& film box that has all the spare blades in it.  And I haven’t actually counted the number of 16×20 matte black #11 Neilsens I have, nor verified how many sheets of 16×20 glass I have.  Heck, I haven’t even decided to glaze everything with glass, maybe I should glaze it with plexi.  But then I’m out of Brillianize and don’t actually have any 16×20 plexi that isn’t scratched all to hell.

There must be a pattern to getting work ready for a show, along the lines of Elizabeth Kubler-Ross’s stages of dying.  It would go like this: eager anticipation, procrastination, reality check, overwhelming disillusionment and despair, frantic preparation of something, ANYTHING to hang, hanging, post-mortem analysis, recovery.

Why in the world do I do this again and again?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Billie said, on January 20, 2007 at 6:09 am

    Why do it again? I’ve asked myself that very question and yet when there is the opportunity to show, I say yes. It is so much work, so emotional draining, so expensive, why, why, why do I say yes?

  2. Howard Grill said, on January 21, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    Sort of sounds like what Brooks Jensen was describing in this recent podcast:

    [audio src="http://www.lenswork.com/podcast/LW0335%20-%20Virginia%20Woolf%20on%20Creativity,%20Part%202.mp3" /]


Comments are closed.

