Musings on Photography

Submission

Posted in shows by Paul Butzi on February 9, 2007

No, not Van Gogh’s film.  It’s a different sort of submission.

One of my New Year’s resolutions/goals (motivated entirely by reading artist’s blog entries about getting more exposure for their work) was to submit my work to juried shows.

Today I sent off four images as my submission to the Larson Gallery 35th Annual National Juried Photography Exhibition.  I’ve gotten work into the show before (back in 2002), so it seemed a good prospect.

Hope I haven’t wasted the money.  I’m still of two minds about this sort of stuff, but I’m willing to pursue it for a while and see where it leads.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hgebeaux said, on February 10, 2007 at 3:24 am

    Paul,
    With the images I see as I check your Blog daily, you shouldn’t have any problem getting into any show. I thoroughly enjoy your pictures. Getting exposure in any way is something I’ve found very difficult. I can’t get anyone to even read my Blog, not even my girlfriend! Of course, that’s telling me something about my Blog, if I’d listen. And getting exposure for my pictures has also been confusing and difficult. I live in the sticks of Virginia with little money to pursue things like marketing, but in some way I don’t care. I love photography, and I’ll continue doing what I do, continue trying to learn new things, surrounding myself with art of all kinds from all people, even if no one ever sees my stuff. I’ll admit, however, that at times I feel that the creative process I’m involved in has to include a receiver, a viewer, and if there isn’t one, then the process is flawed, incomplete. But then I come back to reality.
    Thanks for allowing this comment.
    Howard
    See my Images at http://www.pbase.com/hgebeaux
    Check out my PhotoBlog at http://hgebeaux.wordpress.com/

  2. Ed Richards said, on February 10, 2007 at 4:51 am

    Is there a WWW site somewhere that collects info about juried shows?

  3. […] the middle of a snowfall!) to pick up our mail.  In amongst the other stuff was the response to my submission to the  Larson Gallery 35th Annual National Juried Photography Exhibition.  (Side note: someone […]


Comments are closed.

