Musings on Photography

Dry Spell

Posted in process by Paul Butzi on February 16, 2007

As usual, the flurry of effort of getting even a small show up, combined with my leaving the Monday Night Group, have led to my hitting the usual post-show dry spell.  It doesn’t help that the weather has been unenticing photographically.

So what am I doing?  Right now, taking a few days off to catch a lot of theater.  After that, it’s going to be trying to get back into the swing of getting out with the camera as often as possible.  And trying to find some every other week motivator to replace the Monday Night Group.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. andy webster said, on February 16, 2007 at 9:45 am

    Why did you decide to leave the group, Paul? I ask because I’m about to initiate one myself, along with a few other local incurable photographers. Was there a particular issue or had things simply reached a natural conclusion?

  2. Ed Richards said, on February 17, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    As for the bad weather, I have been looking for alternative subjects. I purchased one of those cheap Nikon macro lenses with the idea of working on some table top projects when I cannot go outside. Sometimes that is weather, sometimes it is just that I have an hour, and going anywhere will use up all the shooting time. I am curious if any of the other landscape photographers have developed an indoor alternative. Of course, one can always spend the downtime in the darkroom or with photoshop. As you put it, Paul, you can always burn in another tree. I wrestle with this – I can almost always find a little more I can to an image, even if it is just one more scan for dust to spot. I think this is why I am so adament about pruning out images that are not keepers.


Comments are closed.

