Musings on Photography

Hewlett Packard Z3100 printer

Posted in equipment, hp z3100 by Paul Butzi on February 24, 2007

Yesterday, my friend Rob took delivery on an HP z3100 printer.  I went over to his place to help him uncrate it, set it up, and help him play with it.

I was very impressed.  The printer design is excellent, unpacking and assembly was easy with two people (with us carefully following the instructions exactly), and we had used the built in profiling feature and generated two prints less than four hours after we opened up the crate.  The first prints were very impressive, and the built in profiling was amazing.

This printer is definitely on my list of things to think about getting.  More details as Rob gets more experience with the printer.  The obvious experiments (comparison of prints from the z3100 and the Epson 9600 I use and the Epson 7800 Bryan uses) will take place shortly and should tell us a lot about the print quality.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Billie said, on February 24, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    Yes, I do hope that you will post more information on the HP printer even though it is probably out of my price range. Maybe some of the technology will show up in less expensive HP printers. I’m watching information about the Canon and HP printers because I preparing for the day that my Epson 4000 has the fatal “clog” which I really don’t think is a clog but an engineering problem with the ink deliver system.

  2. Ed Richards said, on February 24, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    If you are not too obesessed with pigment, the HP 90/130 printers are a terrific bargain, esp. the 90 paired with the Imageprint Lite RIP for under $1500.

  3. Mike R. said, on February 24, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    I look forward to your future posts on this subject. The HP Z3100 looks to be a well-conceived product. I will be very interested to hear more about the user experience with it, as well as your opinions on how it compares with the 9800.

  4. Printer Troubleshooting said, on July 1, 2009 at 1:21 am

    Nice blog about printer. I have a lot of problem with my office printer. I’m IT support and need to solve any problem. Do you have any suggestion about printer troushooting guide site? Thank you very much.


Comments are closed.

