Musings on Photography

One More Label Story

Posted in art is a verb, process by Paul Butzi on February 27, 2007

One more anecdote related to the whole ‘labelling’ train of thought – this one bubbled up from my memory last night as I was falling asleep. 

I remember reading, a long time ago now, an interview with a photographer about the path of his career.  He was describing meeting one of his photographic heroes – a photographer whose work had been a major influence.  Sorry, I can’t remember who either photographer was…

But anyway, he went to a showing of his hero’s work, and awkwardly introduced himself, saying he really admired the hero’s work, particularly the nudes, because he himself photographed nudes.

And the hero looked at him for a moment, and then said “I don’t photograph nudes.  I photograph my wife.”

At the time I read the interview, I thought that was a neatly drawn distinction.  Now I think that it’s both neatly drawn, and tremendously important.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doug Stockdale said, on February 27, 2007 at 8:51 am

    The hero photographer may have been Harry Callahan, as I believe that every nude that I recall being published by him was made with his wife as the model/subject.


Comments are closed.

