Musings on Photography

Dan Cautrell

Posted in interesting blogs by Paul Butzi on March 24, 2007

A few weeks ago I spent some time scanning prints for Dan Cautrell, an artist who lives in the Snoqualmie Valley (not far from my home) and whose work I greatly admire.  Our art collection includes several of Dan’s prints, including the now world famous Statement of Purpose.

One of the great things about scanning a broad selection of Dan’s prints was that I got a great overview of his work; I’m even more impressed now than I was before.  The goal of the scanning was to make it possible for Dan to get a web site of his work together.  It’s now online at http://www.dancautrell.com/.

Please take a moment to take a look.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Frank said, on March 25, 2007 at 7:21 am

    The only problem I have is the size of the images — .75×1.5 inches on my monitor. I can’t tell what they are about…..why so small?

    Pitchertaker

  2. Trevor said, on March 25, 2007 at 8:19 am

    The art looks like it’s probably interesting, but I have to agree with Frank, the images are too small to be useful on the web (barely bigger than a postage stamp on my iMac).

    Just out of curiosity, did you give him a good and royal thrashing for using Flash?

  3. Paul Butzi said, on March 25, 2007 at 9:06 am

    I’ll pass on to Dan the feedback that the images are too small.

    Dan didn’t implement nor design the website, so, no, I didn’t give him a hard time about using Flash.

    I’m just glad that Dan finally has a website at all. I think his work is outstanding and I’d like to see it get much more exposure.

  4. Trevor said, on March 25, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    The Flash comment was actually meant to be tounge-in-cheek after the energy you displayed in your earlier post about the topic. I happen not to share your disdain for it.

  5. Ed Richards said, on March 25, 2007 at 6:00 pm

    All you have to do to enlarge them is zoom the browser. Ctrl-scroll wheel for PCs, who knows for Macs.


Comments are closed.

