Musings on Photography

Blog Memes

Posted in web issues, whimsy by Paul Butzi on May 26, 2007

Let me go on record as saying that I think this is a misuse of the word ‘meme’.  Nevertheless, since participation in these things appears to be one of those social obligation things that I understand poorly (and thus am disinclined to mess with), I’ll participate.  Kind of.

Tracy Helgeson tagged me with the ‘reveal seven things about yourself” thingie some time back, and although I’ve secretly been hoping that if I just waited long enough everyone would forget, I am feeling like a slackard.

Herewith seven more things (in addition to the five listed in the about page):

  1. I taught our dog, Kodak, to close doors and drawers.  When we clean up the kitchen, it’s his job to close all the cabinet doors and drawers.  He also closes the door when we bring in groceries, and if he comes into the studio he closes the door behind himself.  Good dog, Kodak!
  2. The following are definitely not among my favorite things: raindrops on roses, whiskers on kittens, cream colored ponies, doorbells, sleighbells, girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes, snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes.
  3. Although they are not my favorite things, I like: bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens. 
  4. I’m actually pretty fond of crisp apple streudels, schnitzel with noodles, and wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings.
  5. I have done the following: watch the sunrise on a tropic isle, send photographs and souvenirs, fly the ocean in a silver plane, see the jungle when it’s wet with rain.
  6. Although  I have not done the following, I would like to: see the pyramids along the Nile, see the marketplace in old Algiers.
  7. I don’t have to remember anything when my dream appears.  My dream appeared long ago, I married her, and I’ll belong to her, all the while, ’til I’m home again and long after, no matter how many times I do any of the things in (5) and (6).

Since I am apparently the last blogger on the planet to be tagged, I think I’ll decline nominating more bloggers for this particular form of torment.

Lisa Call also tagged me with the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’, which I certainly appreciate.  It’s now my privilege to nominate five more bloggers for this award.

I nominate (order is random):

  • 5b4 – a blog on photo books with really great reviews.
  • Doug Plummer, whose articulate and lucid posts on his creative process are, as far as I’m concerned, the gold standard for art blogging.
  • Eolake Stobblehouse, whose breadth of interest is staggering.
  • Colin Jago, who was nominated by Lisa but I will nominate anyway.
  • Frank Petronio – a photographer whose choice of subject is so far from mine that he keeps me thinking.

Comments Off on Blog Memes

