Musings on Photography

Blogroll replacement experiment

Posted in interesting blogs, Uncategorized by Paul Butzi on June 13, 2007

5d-070605-4288.jpg

Looking at the blogroll I maintain for this blog, today I noticed that quite a few of those blogs seem to have gone dormant.  Some of them I’ve sort of lost interest in.  It seems that no matter how hard I try to keep it up to date and reflecting what I’m currently reading, it always looks out of date.

Thus, a new experiment.  The blogroll goes away.  In it’s place, I plan on making post at least once a week which includes links to the blogged stuff I’ve enjoyed the most over the past week.

The contenders for this round are:

  • Paul Lester Photo has been on a run lately, with Paul making frequent posts about his book plans, his recent trips, some musing on thoughts prompted by the excellent book Art and Fear, dust, teaching.  It sounds like it’s all over the map, but it’s certainly held my interest.  Just keep scrolling backward in time.
  • Frank Armstrong’s Pitchertakin’ is off on a road trip, which looks like it should be interesting.  He’s planning on keeping the blog updated as he goes along.  Could be interesting.
  • Doug Stockdales Singular Images has been fascinating of late, with many posts as he works through issues surrounding his ‘Bad Trip – Sad Trip’ series.  Again, just keep scrolling back through the posts.  Good stuff.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. paul said, on June 14, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    “It sounds like it’s all over the map, but it’s certainly held my interest.” LOL! I certainly am all over the map! I like it like that. There are so many interesting things to talk about in life, plus, I’m not that creative to come up with different things about photography on a daily basis like you do! 🙂

    I love to stop here and read what you’re thinking.

  2. Rosie Perera said, on June 14, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    Speaking of Originality, as you were a few days ago, looks like somebody is getting inspired by my blog. Heh, heh. I’m flattered. I thought it was just a coincidence at first when your photo of a broom leaning up against the outside of a houseshowed up a few weeks after my similar photo. But now the red Japanese maple leaves so soon after I posted mine. Just a coincidence? Perhaps not. I know you’ve been visiting my blog. I like the way photos by different photographers can play off each other and inspire each other. You and I have different takes on our subjects, and there are seemingly endless different ways to portray brooms and Japanese maple leaves. Knowing how you usually draw from your archives when posting, I’m guessing you didn’t go out and take these photos after being subconsciously triggered by seeing mine. But perhaps you chose them for your blog because of having seen mine recently.

  3. Doug Stockdale said, on June 14, 2007 at 8:49 pm

    Paul, thanks for the nice comments, especially the “fasinating” part, I can use all of the encouragement I can get! In fact I was begining to think that I was boring folks with my internal strife with this Bad Trip – Sad Trip series. So now I will continue to keep posting about my progress and feelings on this series:- )

    Best regards, Doug


Comments are closed.

