Musings on Photography

Good Art/Bad Art

Posted in the art world by Paul Butzi on June 17, 2007

5d-070608-4326.jpg

I put this on my ‘things to think about’ list a while ago.

Often, when I look at reviews of art, or hear people express an opinion about art, I conclude that for a lot of people, Art is divided into two categories – the Art that’s liked by people the reviewer likes, and the Art that’s liked by people the reviewer doesn’t like.  Good Art is therefore defined as the art that’s liked by people the reviewer likes, and bad art is the stuff liked by people the reviewer doesn’t like.

This struck me as being just like High School, where we all ended up listening to music not because it was good but because it was popular with our peers.  But it’s perfectly true.  You can even identify the art communities that match the high school cliques, if you give it a try.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sean said, on June 17, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    I never fit in back in high school. I liked AC/DC but you would often find Sam and Dave and Tchaikovsky on the same mixed tape in my Walkman. I spent a lot of quality time alone in the library.

    I realize now that I’m better off for never having fit into any of the standard cliques, but I didn’t really appreciate it at the time. 😐

  2. Guy Tal said, on June 18, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    “Why the critics, like a flock of ducks, always move in perfect unison: Their authority with the public depends upon an appearance of unanimous agreement. One dissenting voice would shatter the whole fragile structure.” -Edward Abbey

  3. Rosie Perera said, on June 18, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    Here’s a great short film, made by a friend of mine, that beautifully illustrates the phenomenon of art “critics…mov[ing] in perfect unison”: The Artist’s Circle.


Comments are closed.

