Musings on Photography

Blogroll Replacement

Posted in interesting blogs by Paul Butzi on June 20, 2007

5d-070608-4318.jpg

I have a handful of interesting blog posts to point to:

  • at Monster Crochet, a post which points to what sounds like an interesting TV show, and a wonderfully impassioned post about the importance of art-making, as opposed to art as objects.  She writes

You see, the process of making is more than mere object creation. It is history. It is the harbinger of both experience and wisdom. It is a transcendent force that connects we humans to one another as links in a chain from the present to the infancy of human history.

  • At Chantal Stone’s New Words, a thought provoking post on the work of Magnum photographers, and focusing on the work of photographer Brent Clark, of whom she writes

I love photographers who have the ability to force the viewer to stay longer, and look into the picture. Brent’s photographs are more than just pictures of what something looks like, they are illustrations of an experience, of a feeling, of something familiar, something you want to be part of.

  • at Julie O’Donnell’s Seeing, Thinking, Photographing…, an excellent post about the virtues of looking at a photographer’s work as a body of work rather than as individual photographs, even when the work has not been done in a project format.
  • At Andy Chen’s What Andy Saw, browsing back through time landed me on a wonderful post on ‘re-enchantment’.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. julie said, on June 20, 2007 at 11:47 am

    Thanks for the mention…

    I also love that ‘re-enchantment’ post of Andy’s. He has a fantastic way of making sense of the world and putting it into simple words.

    Looking forward to seeing what else you come up with through the blogroll posts, its always great to find new ‘thinking photographers’ to read about.

  2. Eoghan said, on June 20, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    You can watch some of Craft in America on YouTube

    The section, in the promo, on basket weaving and the passing down of the craft from one generation to another is beautiful

    http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=craftinamerica&search=

  3. Andy Chen said, on June 20, 2007 at 9:18 pm

    Paul, I love the new blogroll approach. It’s a great way to channel the flow and build up community.

    Getting mentioned is nice too. Although, I wonder how knowing that I’m being read affects how I write. Would I be un/consciously tailoring what I write to what people have said that they’ve previously liked? What if, as we compliment each other we all end up aligning our tastes – kind of a “blogs that are liked by people the reviewers like.”

    In fact, I should start being more contrary, just for umm… the health of the blogging community… yeah. 😉

  4. Chantal said, on June 21, 2007 at 7:19 am

    Thanks for the mention Paul…

    Like Andy said, what a great way to foster community.

    And it’s been two days… I’m still mesmerized by Brent Clark’s work!

  5. Kjell said, on June 22, 2007 at 1:32 am

    Hi Paul,
    I’ve read your blog since the very beginning, and been through your old articles on your web page several times. First I like to tell that I find your writing very inspiring. Some of the best about photography, and I’m always looking forward to new posts.

    Your blog roll replacement I find very cool. While the old style of blog rolls usually gets overlooked, this kind grabs attention. In fact, I find it very generous to the ones you mention, as it probably boosts their traffic being put forward on a high quality blog like yours.
    It already has pointed me to a couple of blogs that I probably will continue to read for a while now.


Comments are closed.

