Musings on Photography

New Epson Printers

Posted in equipment, hardware, hp z3100 by Paul Butzi on July 18, 2007

My now somewhat ancient (but still soldiering bravely on) Epson 9600 is up for replacement.  As readers here know, I’m very impressed by the HP Z3100 printers.  But, like so many photographers, I was kinda/sorta holding back, waiting to see what Epson’s response to the Z3100 would be.

Well, the wait is over.  Epson will formally announce the new printer models on August 13, 2007.  In the meantime, though, Epson UK have apparently jumped the gun and blabbed.  You can read interesting coverage at PhotographyBlog.  (hat tip: Luminous Landscape)

Based on what I see there, I’ll be going with the HP z3100.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Guy said, on July 18, 2007 at 5:31 pm

    Paul, I don’t think anyone jumped the gun. These “accidental” slips happen with amazing consistency 🙂 It’s a pretty effective marketing ploy to generate a buzz.

    If I’m reading this correctly, the main difference is the Vivid Magenta ink. I don’t really think I ever encountered a case with my K3 prints when I wanted them to be more vivid and was somehow limited by the inkset. Curiously there’s no mention of photo/matte black co-existing, which is (IMHO) the most significant design flaw in the current models.

    I’d love a z3100 myself but for now I’m sticking to my 4800.

    Guy

  2. Ed Richards said, on July 18, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    LL also indicated that there is more info that has not been released, perhaps about other printers. Thus leaving me wondering what is going on as the July 31 deadline on the $1000 off promo of the Z3100 draws closer.

  3. Frank Armstrong said, on July 18, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    Paul:

    What exactly DIDN’T you see that would have kept you in the Epson camp?

    Pitchertaker

  4. Paul Butzi said, on July 18, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    What exactly DIDN’T you see that would have kept you in the Epson camp?

    If the printer had demonstrated capabilities that made it worth upgrading from a 7800/9800, I would have considered it in the running against the z3100, because it would have put the 7880/9880 compellingly ahead of the z3100 as well. But Michael Reichmann indicates that he doesn’t think it’s worth upgrading. Hmm.

    Also, if it had included a profiling solution on a par with the z3100, that would have kept the Epson in the running. As it stands, it looks as if the HP z3100 will be less hassle to run.

    So at this point, with not a lot of info, it looks as if the Epson is missing two major items.

    That all might change when we have a bit more concrete data. We don’t know how fast the new printer is, for instance. Lots of info that really needs to be nailed down. I guess we’ll find out in mid August.

  5. Andy Chen said, on July 29, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    Paul – 2 days left on the rebate. Do you have a Z3100 on the way?


Comments are closed.

