Musings on Photography

Blogroll Replacement

Posted in Blogroll by Paul Butzi on July 20, 2007

Plenty of interesting reading in the photo blogosphere recently:

  • Over on Colin Jago’s Photostream,there’s an excellent series of posts on color.  Colin has thoughtfully provided an index page that collects the entire series of posts.  Even if your photography is all black and white, this series of posts is an absolute must read. 
  • It’s a personal preference thing, and lately it’s been ranging much wider than just photography, but I’ve been completely enchanted by Paul Lester’s Paul Lester Photo lately.  What I’ve enjoyed most is his openness in sharing how his photography integrates into his (very interesting) life. If it’s not a blog you read regularly, then I’d suggest starting with  the July 11 post, and reading forward through time to the present. 
  • Gordon McGregor is once again posting to his blog Photo Expressions after a hiatus, so if you stopped checking in there to see what’s up, it’s worth another visit.
  • At Mike Johnston’s The Online Photographer, I particularly enjoyed this post, with a wonderful photo and an engaging story.  Also well worth the time to read is this post.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Paul Butzi writes this about my blog: It’s a personal preference thing, and lately it’s been ranging much wider than […]

  2. Martin Doonan said, on July 29, 2007 at 9:45 am

    I quite like this new blogroll replacement. Makes blog-linking rather more personal, which, after all, is the reason we read others blogs.

    As to this particular post, I keep coming back as I’m drawn to the picture illustrating it. Purely a personal thing, but it’s one of my favourite amongst your blog posts. Would you care to enlighten me a little more on the subject/circumstance?

  3. Paul Butzi said, on July 29, 2007 at 10:15 am

    Martin, the scene is in the Palouse in southeastern Washington. It’s an area where the landscape is rolling hills for miles and miles. It’s all agriculture; all the towns are very small. It’s a very popular destination for photographers, primarily because of the landscape, and because it’s an area where Don Kirby has done quite a bit of work. (See http://www.donkirbyphotography.com/)

    I admit that I was reluctant to go there and photograph, because it’s a fair drive to get there, and for some time now I’ve been increasingly disinclined to photograph far from home. But after considerable urging by Dave Clarridge and Chuck Downs, I went out there on a trip with Chuck.

    The Palouse is an area where the landscape is really perfectly suited to pan formats. I was there with my trusty 4×5, but the desire to work in a panoramic format was so strong I actually drew crop marks for the 2:1 format on the groundglass with a Sharpie.

  4. Gordon McGregor said, on July 29, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    Hi Paul,

    thanks for the recommendation. I’m going to try to be more regular again…

  5. Martin Doonan said, on July 30, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Thanks for that. Seems like an area similar to where I grew up (and still call home) in the UK. Maybe that’s why I like the picture so much. I think I must get myself back to the NW US sometime.


Comments are closed.

