Musings on Photography

Ted Orland

Posted in Uncategorized by Paul Butzi on August 4, 2007

A few days ago, I got a nice surprise – an email from Ted Orland. After flattering me by suggesting that my review of the first edition of A View from the Studio Door contributed to the success of that book (it’s mighty hard for me to believe I have enough influence to make any difference at all), Ted told me that he’d gotten lots of great feedback from people, and that he’d incorporated the feedback and new material into a second edition. That’s great news!

And now I have a copy of the second edition in my hands, delivered to me yesterday. I haven’t had a chance to really take a look at it yet, much less read it in depth, or compare it to the first edition. But I’m very excited to have a copy, and I’m planning on reading it over the next few days, making a comparison to the first edition, and posting an in depth review here.

Ted’s books have been a huge, huge influence for me, not just on how I think about photography, but even more importantly on my views about the difference between art and artmaking and on the importance and role of artmaking in our society. So I just can’t express how excited I am to learn that Ted is continuing what, in the first edition, he described as ‘a conversation in slow motion.’

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Greg Lato said, on August 25, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    I recently reviewed Ted’s book on the blog posting What’s the View from Your Studio?.

    Ted was wonderful enough to send me a copy of his book after I contacted him about a few quotes from his book that we added to the FocalPower Quote Archive. This book has become one of my most recommended art/artistry books. I aspecially like how he integrated comments into this second edition.


Comments are closed.

