Musings on Photography

How to do business

Posted in Uncategorized by Paul Butzi on August 5, 2007

I’ve written in the past about how some companies don’t seem to know how to do business, and end up driving away customers.

Well, I’m in the process of switching from Windows machines to Macs. Just recently, the Mac Pro I ordered arrived, and so I’ve been going through and setting it up. It arrived more quickly than I expected (three days between order and arrival on my doorstep), and setting it up the way I want has taken less time than I expected (just one day, really) and so I found myself behind the curve on having the software I wanted to install on it – most notably, Photoshop.

I’ve been running Photoshop CS2 on my windows machine. It seemed silly to switch platforms to the Mac and not upgrade to CS3, so this afternoon, I called Adobe Customer Service to inquire how I should go about it. Did I just order a Mac upgrade, or what?

Carmen, the customer service rep I talked to, cheerfully listened to my story, then told me that what I really wanted was a cross platform upgrade, and the only way to order it was via telephone from Adobe direct. So she shuffled my call over to Sales, where I talked to Chris, who was just as friendly and helpful as Carmen had been. In just a few minutes, Chris and I had exchanged serial numbers, order numbers, all sorts of numbers. All I had to do was print out a Letter of Destruction assuring Adobe that I’d destroyed all the copies of the OLD photoshop, and they’d happily send me the cross platform upgrade. I downloaded the letter from the Adobe web site, printed it out, filled it out, scanned it, and emailed the pdf back to Adobe.

After the call ended, I realized I hadn’t given Adobe a shipping address. I called them back, talked to another friendly person (Angela, I think), who checked the order and confirmed they had the right address on file.

There’s still room for a slip between now and when the disks arrive on my doorstep, but based on the super service so far, I’m pretty confident that even if there’s a hitch, it will be easy to straighten out.

At every stage, every single person I talked to was friendly, cheerful, polite, and helpful. Everything was handled with dispatch, but I never got the sense that they were in a rush to get done, or to get me off the phone. At every stage, they wanted to make sure I was confident the right thing was happening.

I’m quick to point out when customer service from a company is less than stellar, so it’s only fair that I point out when a company has done a good job. Adobe sure impressed me today. Good job, Adobe. Great customer support on the phone, and on a Sunday afternoon, no less.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doug Plummer said, on August 7, 2007 at 11:10 am

    Boy did you have a different experience. Good for you. I have found dealing with Adobe, more than once, rather nightmarish. Can I get whatever magic powder you have?

  2. Paul Butzi said, on August 7, 2007 at 12:33 pm

    Well, Doug, there’s still the not insignificant task of actually delivering the software to my doorstep. And, to paraphrase the old saying, there’s many a slip between the order and the actual package on my studio porch.

    In the meantime, it occurred to me that I could download a 30 day trial version, install that, and use it until the actual ordered software shows up. I just started that download. We’ll see how that works out…

  3. Martin Doonan said, on August 7, 2007 at 1:13 pm

    I, too, have had rather iffy dealings with Adobe. Long story, won’t relate but a single issue involved 4 departments and several hours on the phone.

    Word of warning on the trial license – delete entirely before installing the full version. I had no end of trouble when i went from trial to full version: apparantly they are completely incompatible (or were in my case).

  4. […] 13th, 2007 I wrote here about how nicely my customer service experience with Adobe had been. Way to go, Adobe, I said. […]


Comments are closed.

