Musings on Photography

Blogroll Replacement

Posted in Blogroll by Paul Butzi on September 6, 2007

5D-070905-4661

I don’t know if it’s just been a dry period for photo oriented blogs, or that I’ve been in a funk. But it’s past time to revive the periodic blogroll replacement posts. Herewith, three posts that particularly delighted me:

  • For some time now I’ve been following (with avid interest) Colin Jago’s bird photography. In this post Colin describes the newest equipment change. Be sure to read the comments, which are excellent. So many photographers (myself included, to my great dismay) seem to buy equipment and then look for ways to apply it. If ever there was an example of picking the equipment to suit the task, this is it. Beyond all that, the post is just an excellent example of how the ‘goodness’ of a camera is highly dependent on the task to which we plan to set it.
  • Gordon McGregor with an interesting post alerting us to his attendance at a Radiant Vista workshop, notable for the content of the pictured horoscope. If I had been sitting on a chair when reading the horoscope pictured, I would have fallen off laughing. Fortunately, I was ensconced comfortably on the couch.
  • Matt Alofs alerts us to a a pivotal new technology, sure to revolutionize photography of hyperactive children, small dogs dosed with caffeine, and solve problems like those of Colin Jago. What’s amazing is that for all of the writing about the new Sony, no one but Matt has realized that this technology even exists, let alone how much of a paradigm shift it represents.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gordon McGregor said, on September 10, 2007 at 8:50 am

    Glad to hear you found it funny – I certainly did. Turned out to be true though, too, which is perhaps even funnier. I wonder how the other 550 million Pisceans in the world fared.


Comments are closed.

