Musings on Photography

Z3100 Status

Posted in digital printing, hardware, hp z3100, process by Paul Butzi on September 6, 2007

5D-070905-4628

My plans for this winter include a renewed focus on printing (especially color), both older images and newer work. I’d like to spend some of the dark dreary months playing with new papers. I have a lot of plans for keeping my spirits up during the Great Darkness that is winter in the PNW by filling huge trashcans with duffer prints.

My Epson 9600 is now two generations back from the leading edge, and dealing with new papers means sending test prints out for profiles, one week turnaround, etc. And I’ve been impressed by the print quality I’ve seen from the HP z3100.

So, just five minutes ago, I ordered a 24″ z3100. John at JVH Technical tells me I should have it real darn quick. I’ve been pondering this particular move for months now – basically, ever since I went over and helped my friend Rob set his up and saw the prints that came off it.

I’m looking forward to having it arrive.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Billie said, on September 7, 2007 at 6:52 am

    And I’m looking forward to your reviews of the printer.

  2. Mike said, on September 7, 2007 at 7:20 am

    It’ll be interesting to see whether or not being on the “bleeding edge” brings a worthwhile improvement in print quality.

  3. Alex Brikoff said, on September 7, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    I, too, am over due for an equipment upgrade both on my desktop and my printer. After reading about your trials and tribulations with the “big switcheroo” and after talking to my friend, Ralph (an Nth degree Macophile), I am actually considering going with Macs rather than PCs for the first time in my computing history (final decision pending!). I am also open to considering other printer manufacturers other than Epson. Although I simply don’t have the space for a 24 inch machine such as the z3100, I might consider a smaller counterpart from HP if I can find one that I like. Stay tuned! Film at 11!


Comments are closed.

