Musings on Photography

Z3100 operating costs

Posted in hp z3100 by Paul Butzi on November 13, 2007

G9-20071010-0624

Because I’m fairly detail oriented/obsessive I kept fairly accurate records of my ink costs per print on my Epson 9600. Paying $88 (a decent street price) for each 220ml cartridge in the 9600, my ink costs worked out to about $0.75 per square foot of image area.

The HP Z3100 does much of the work for me – ink usage is tracked, per print, and can be displayed using the web browser interface.

Based on those data, my ink costs for prints on the z3100 so far work out to about $0.47 per square foot of image area. Those figures are for printing on HP Professional Photo Satin. Prints on watercolor papers use more ink, which will probably edge the ink costs upward some amount. I don’t have enough data on those prints to assess the costs yet.

Sadly, I haven’t found a paper which competes on cost with the Epson Enhanced Matte I was using for work prints. This will drive my day to day work printing costs up substantially. (suggestions for a decent, cheap paper for the Z3100 will be eagerly accepted. Suggestions for decent, cheap paper that comes in 17″ wide rolls even more eagerly accepted.)

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Frank Armstrong said, on November 13, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    You might want to try Staples Supreme Double-Sided Matte. While it doesn’t come in rolls or large sheet sizes, it does come in 13×19 and 8.5×11, and is usually about half the price of Enhanced Matte. I have found the Staples 8.5×11 “on sale” for as little as $3.00 per 50/sheets.

    P’taker

  2. Mark Bridgers said, on November 13, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Red River Paper has its matte papers on rolls:
    http://www.redrivercatalog.com/browse/cat=5&prod=13.htm


Comments are closed.

