Musings on Photography

Wish List

Posted in Canon Powershot G9 by Paul Butzi on November 28, 2007

G9-071111-0154

Mike Johnston asks “If you could ask Santa (anyone in the photo industry) to make one special present (product) just for you, what would that be?” Here’s what I’d like – and I don’t think it would be hard for Canon to do it, either. In fact, I think they could do it and give it out free.
I’ve written before (here and here) about the stupidity of metering systems in digital cameras. A lot of the technical hurdles to implementing what I’d like (a metering system that automatically adjusts exposure according to the ‘expose right’ rule) have to do with cameras being SLRs with a mirror.

But with the wonderful little Canon G9, of course, there is no mirror. In fact, I can set the camera to display the histogram of the photo I’m about to take (we will here wave hands about and ignore the fact that the histogram is just an approximation of what the JPG would look like), so we know the G9 has the compute power needed to perform this simple adjustment.

So how about it, Canon? Will you revise the software in the stellar PowerShot G9 to include a metering mode which is “automatically adjust exposure according to the ‘expose right’ rule”? It would make this wonderful camera (I’m really falling in love with it) into a truly groundbreaking device, and set the entire industry on the right track.

Pretty please? It’s the only thing I want for Christmas.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin Doonan said, on November 28, 2007 at 11:16 am

    I think it is entirely possible with existing matrix meters. Instead of centre priority (centre weight average) or centre value (spot) we need max priority (use just the maximum zone’s value). Bingo!
    Ought to be faster than histogram based, too.

  2. Guy said, on November 28, 2007 at 11:38 am

    Just give me a good full-size sensor it a small, solid, spartan body with no frills. Think a 1Ds MkIII sensor in a Nikon FM2 body. I don’t need AF, don’t need fancy metering, don’t need high frame rate, don’t need custom functions or picture modes or direct-print buttons etc.

    Just give me a bright viewfinder, let me set the shutter speed and aperture, and leave me alone 🙂

    Guy

  3. paul said, on November 28, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    Guy, I have to agree with you! Also, since we are adding to our wish list, please give me a true, luminosity ONLY, B&W digital camera with no frills!


Comments are closed.

