Musings on Photography

Interesting Arrivals

Posted in digital printing, equipment by Paul Butzi on November 30, 2007

G9-071122-0168
Two interesting things have arrived here at my house in the past few days:

  • A 17″ x 50′ roll of Crane’s Museo Portfolio Rag. This is a heavyweight matte surface paper. The base is about the same color as Crane Museo Max, but the surface finish is much more like hot press watercolor. Not quite as smooth as Epson Ultrasmooth, but very close. It’s very slightly warmer than Ultrasmoooth – you can see the difference when they’re side by side but might have trouble seeing the difference if they were on opposite sides of the room. I’m hoping this will have all the properties (gamut, dmax, and feel) of Crane Museo Max but without the cold press watercolor finish which irks me slightly. I will be evaluating this paper over the next few weeks, assuming that my HP Z3100 woes get worked out (more on this in another post).
  • A 2TB Western Digital MyBook Pro Edition II external disk. This is actually two 1TB disk drives in an external cabinet that provides FOUR interfaces: USB2.0, 1394a (aka Firewire 400), 1394b (aka Firewire 800), and eSata. The two disk drives can be configured in a variety of ways, including appearing as one big disk with 2TB capacity and in mirror mode as one redundant disk with 1TB capacity. My eventual plan is that this disk and a Mac Mini will replace my aging and ailing 1TB raid fileserver. It cost $640 from Newegg.com, and it represents what I think is a pretty inexpensive way to get redundant storage in a small cabinet. I’ve read reports that the unit is noisy, which might be a problem. More on this as I get a chance to play with it.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gary Nylander said, on November 30, 2007 at 11:44 pm

    Crane sent me some samples of the Portfolio Rag, I think its a nice paper, I have used the Museo Max which I also like, its a toss up as to which I will use, maybe both depending on the subject.

  2. Storage « Musings on Photography said, on January 4, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    […] long ago, I reported that I’d bought the external disk. I played around with it some, found it satisfactory, and planned on buying the Mac Mini soon. […]


Comments are closed.

