Musings on Photography

Other plans/Z3100 news

Posted in hp z3100, local color by Paul Butzi on December 4, 2007

5D-071129-4802
Well, I had stuff planned for the early part of this week. Instead of doing those things, I had weather. We’re fine here, with no problems other than a plugged culvert that caused water to flow across our driveway and threatened to wash it out. That’s all under control, now. Not fixed, but under control. Amazing what can be accomplished with plastic tarps, eh?

But roads are closed all over, which might make it interesting to go into Seattle in a few hours. At least this isn’t like last November, where the entire world was cut off from the center of civilization (aka Carnation, WA). This time, it was other places that really got hammered, although when driving home last night I several times had to drive through standing water 4-6 inches deep.

The good news is that the printheads for the Z3100 arrived, I put them in, and the printer seems to be fine now. It chugged along nicely yesterday when I was helping a friend out by making some prints for him. The nice prints did a lot to take the bad taste of my horrid support experience out of my mouth.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gene Lake said, on December 10, 2007 at 6:12 pm

    What did you see in this detail?
    I saw the serendipity of the leaf on the light colored rock, but then the contrast of botanicals and mineral came into play.
    I’m just starting to see more than just pretty pictures of forests etc. and more of what makes a picture a work of art. Its been a long struggle of getting over ” Having the right equipment” and being technically correct, to seeing.
    Thanks for having this one up on your site, many of your photographs I have seen here evoke good emotions.
    Gene

  2. Paul Butzi said, on December 11, 2007 at 9:04 am

    Gene, the detail that captured my attention was the leaf stuck to the rock. This particular rock is right near the studio front door – the horizontal line at the bottom of the frame is the concrete front porch of the studio.

    Once the subject (the leaf and rock) caught my attention I looked for a way to frame it.

    I live in the forest. I see the contrast between vegetable and mineral all the time; it’s the thru-story of the place in many ways. So it was fairly simple to see the little sprig of plant would go nicely in the lower left corner, and equally easy to decide to let the edge of the patio be the bottom of the frame. The rest was just fiddling until the proportions felt right.

  3. Bradley said, on January 1, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Hi Paul,

    Don’t know that this is the right setting for such a question, and I suspect that equipment questions can be a bit annoying … so you are welcome to pass on it if you like … but I’m just curious about printing to a large format inkjet like the Z3100. How do you think about how much resolution you need in an image to print out what size? Sounds like you shoot 4×5 and with the G9? Can something like the G9 support fairly large output?
    I currently shoot with a Panasonic LX1 and think I am about to spring for a new D300 … or maybe a D3.
    Thanks — and great work. I’m interesting in following your blog …
    Bradley


Comments are closed.

