Musings on Photography

Hall of Mental Cultivation

Posted in Uncategorized by Paul Butzi on December 9, 2007

G9-20071022-0035

The past few days my chore has been to work on the big pile of logs pictured in this post, bucking it up into appropriate lengths so it can be split into firewood. In that post, I lamented that this was not leaving much time for photography.

But here’s how it’s worked out. Bucking the wood up into chunks requires the bigger of my two saws (the big one is called Fat Man. The smaller one, which came first, is called Little Boy. Ok, I have a twisted sense of humor. Sue me.) Anyway, because this job involves using the chainsaw, it falls into that category of task that is both hard work and demands careful attention. This means no room left in my brain for things like contemplating photography or serene contemplation so that I might be better in tune with the infinite. You would think that such a task would not be something I would find helpful to my photography.

And yet.

This morning, I got up and had a cup of tea, and when the sun was up, it was snowing and cold. These little snowflakes were blowing around on the patio, and making interesting patterns. So when I went out to make a start with the chainsaw, I dropped those plans and ran to get the camera. I took a bunch of photos, and when I was done, I put the camera away in the studio, intending to fire up the saw. And then… when I walked out of the studio, another little scene had me scurrying back inside to get the camera again.

Call it filling the well. Call it mental recharge by hard labor. Whatever. It’s been a while since I’ve felt that kind of engagement and mental click. I hope it continues.

Comments Off on Hall of Mental Cultivation

