Musings on Photography

Non-Designer’s Design Book

Posted in books by Paul Butzi on January 9, 2008

G9-080103-0357
My library coughed up a copy of the Non-Designer’s Design Book by Robin Williams. Several people had suggested this was a good book, so I was eagerly looking forward to its arrival.

I agree with everyone who suggested it. It is a good book, covering not just books but design in general, and the presentation is well written, easily followed, and the examples are all clear. It’s so good I turned to Amazon to buy a copy.

Amazon says a new (third!) edition will be out at the end of February. So I’ll order a copy in advance, and plan on renewing with the library one time so I can hang on to this book until the new one arrives.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robert Pallesen said, on January 9, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    A book that I’ve found very helpful with regards to bookmaking is Douglas Holleley’s, Digital Book Design and Publishing.

    The book is very well done and mixes history, theory, technology in it’s how to explanations. It’s beautifully designed and has great illustrations and examples. You can get it at Douglas’s website:

    http://www.clarellen.com

  2. mcananeya said, on January 10, 2008 at 1:41 am

    Paul,

    I particularly like today’s photo.

    Best regards,
    Adam

  3. Dorothy Gantenbein said, on January 19, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    I have been following your blog for a long time without commenting. Thank you for sharing your expertise and photography. Your blog inspired me to publish a photo book. Based on the information here, I decided to take a Book Making workshop with Douglas Holleley through Digital Stop in mid-February.
    http://www.digitalstop.com


Comments are closed.

