Musings on Photography

Multiple Fronts

Posted in Blogroll, books, landscape, local color by Paul Butzi on January 16, 2008

G9-080109-0376-1
Things have been a little slower in terms of posting because things have been a little more active on other fronts.

For example, in the ‘interesting things that have arrived’ front:

  • A short stack of different books on book design, which puts me even farther behind on reading (I got distracted by Extraordinary People, a murder mystery by Peter May). Comments on these books in a few days.
  • The L plate for the Powershot G9 finally arrived from Really Right Stuff, so it is now easier for me to do some serious image quality comparisons between the G9 and the EOS-5d. Hopefully progress on that soon.

Last night, I walked outside to get something from the studio and the night was very clear, with a more or less half moon illuminating the snow covered scenery. I was suddenly overwhelmed by that deja vu feeling that I’d seen this scene on Joe Reifer’s website, so I got out the camera, fiddled around for half an hour, and made one ten minute exposure. The clouds moved in and spoiled my nice star trails and I should have turned out the lights on the house, but the result was pretty interesting, and now I think I’m going to have to spend a little time fiddling around with this. It’s interesting in that way that indicates that perhaps I’ll spend more than a little time, actually. I will have to start paying attention to which places have those dratted ‘closes at dusk’ signs, I guess. This naturally provoked a sudden desire to buy some equipment.

On the subject of my musings on the photos not to take, I found this post on Mike Johnston’s TOP to be one of the best things I’ve read there. I’m not saying that Mike is right because he seems to agree that some photos are better not taken, or even that I agree with everything Mike has written. But I do appreciate the fact that people are thinking about it and that it’s being addressed by folks in places where the issue gets exposure.

My little community, a town of under two thousand souls, was recent stricken by a multiple homicide – six members of a family all murdered on Christmas eve. The event itself was enough to have the community reeling. Added to shock of the event was the impact of having all sort of reporters, camera crews, and photographers overrun the town. I stayed out of town for a week. It gave me increased sympathy for the plight of all those folks who lived near Nickel Mines, PA.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gordon McGregor said, on January 17, 2008 at 7:56 am

    I note with sad irony the similarities between your images and the first scene of the video at this story [ http://www.king5.com/localnews/stories/NW_011408WAB_carnation_property_breakin_TP.20f9748f.html ]

    On the other points, I always enjoy capturing images of time passing, rather than moments stolen from time. Long exposures have a particularly different way to them and I really enjoy the higher motional content.

    The G9 still looks like fun. Trying to avoid. I loved my G2 though.

  2. Joe Reifer said, on January 17, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    Be careful – night photography is addictive. The full moon is next Tuesday, which means the weekend of the 19-20th is prime shooting time. The 5D works really well for long exposures.

    I’ve also been having fun with the Canon G9, including using the time lapse feature for a book review last week. Fun stuff!

    Cheers,

    Joe

  3. Wim Reyns said, on January 18, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    The 5D is a beautiful camera for night time shooting with wonderful result’s (it comes very close to the result’s i have with my 1DmIII) it will be interesting how the G9 holds up.

    Wim.


Comments are closed.

