Musings on Photography

Citius, Altius, Fortius

Posted in equipment by Paul Butzi on January 18, 2008

5D-080118-4913
Ok, not so much higher nor stronger. Just faster.

I’m talking about the Lexar Professional UDMA Dual-Slot USB reader. I finally got one in my hands, and it’s much faster than the old Lexar USB CF reader I had. No, I haven’t done timings, but it’s clearly much faster even with the older 80x CF cards I’m using. It would probably be faster still with the newer, 300x UDMA cards that are now available. (Yes, I suppose I’ll buy some 300x cards.)

These new cards and the new UDMA readers are such a step forward in speed that if you are regularly filling up some of these big 4GB or 8GB cards, it’s worth the cost to upgrade. It turns it from a ‘start up the copy, go away and read a book’ into ‘start up the copy, make a cup of tea, and the copy is done before you sit down to drink.’ That’s not a big deal if you’re dealing with cards on a once a week basis but if you’re traveling or on a photo expedition and your days are already packed pretty tightly, it’s a huge benefit.

Why didn’t I get a firewire reader? Because I wanted one reader that would read both CF cards (which go in the EOS-5d) and SDHC cards (which go in the G9).

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ed Richards said, on January 18, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Got my first 8 gb card as part of my “take more pictures by not just shooting 4×5” New Year’s Resolution. Shot a Mardi Gras ball, filled up the card and my 2 1 gig backups. Great fun, until I downloaded the 1000 raw files and realized that I had to sort out the good shots. That took way more time and was way less fun than shooting them.

    So, with 8 gb cards, do you prune, or just add them to the archive?

  2. Martin Doonan said, on January 18, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    “So, with 8 gb cards, do you prune, or just add them to the archive?”

    Even with 2GB cards and a portable hard-drive I vacillate between the 2. Archiving the lot is easy but fills up storage really fast. Pruning takes time but helps focus the mind.

    I’m coming round to the “quick cull” idea: out of focus & over-exposed go, the rest stay.

  3. Paul Butzi said, on January 19, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    I always just add to the archive.

    My costs to archive raw files run about $.0175/image (actually just a bit less). That price is all in – including the cost off off site backups, redundancy, etc. At those prices, it costs me $17.50 to archive 1000 raw files. That price is falling steadily.

    The big cost is sorting through and editing the big bolus of images, not archiving it.


Comments are closed.

