Musings on Photography

sofobomo.org

Posted in Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on January 20, 2008

5D-080118-4930
In the comments on the SoFoBoMo announcement Rosie Perera wrote:

How about setting up a SoFoBoMo.org? Something along the lines of NaSoAlMo.org, to show who is participating and who has finished successfully.

and Paul Lester wrote:

I agree with Rosie. It would be a great place to post the finished books, assuming that you’d all want to display them for anyone to see/download. Also, the participants could contribute, by donation, to the cost of maintaining the website so as not to cause any financial burden to Paul.

Just now I bought the domain sofobomo.org, not because I have grand plans for a website, but because I don’t want it poached away.

If someone is interested in hosting/maintaining a website such as Rosie described, please post a comment here. If we can reach some agreement on who will build the site, how the site will work, and who will host it, I’ll be delighted to point that domain at the appropriate server. At one point Todd Gehman, the guy who does the NaSoAlMo.org website, had offered to do a website for this.

I notice that NaSoAlMo has a google groups setup. How do folks feel about setting up one of those?

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin Briere said, on January 20, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    If you don’t mind being hosted in Canada (this would make in International SoFoBoMo…) I still have a lot of free space and bandwith on my internet account. Plus I know my way around a few CMS apps like Joomla and Drupal and coppermine.

    I could have something up and running relatively quick.

    Write me if you’re interested.

    Martin

  2. Bernie Sumption said, on January 21, 2008 at 2:01 am

    Ditto – I’m a web developer and photographer. If you have any cool ideas that would require someone with programming skill, get in touch.

  3. John Setzler said, on January 21, 2008 at 7:15 am

    A google group would work out nicely… a Flickr group might work as well since it’s simple to host photos there… Both offer discussion forums so either would do the trick…

  4. Kjell Harald said, on January 22, 2008 at 7:17 am

    If you go for Drupal, I may be able to contribute on the nuts and bolts part.

  5. Maarten said, on January 23, 2008 at 1:26 pm

    I’m willing to help. Setting up and managing websites is second nature (almost;-)). WordPress, joomla, drupal, etc. I don’t care. Although I think we should keep it simple. With hosting I could help as well (we could try one.com?)

    Let me know!

  6. […] haven’t figured out my own theme, but there is still some time before the start. Kudos to Paul Butzi for the […]

  7. Stephen Baird said, on February 10, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    I have loads of hosting space with loads of bandwidth as I’m a reseller – so more than happy to host it – could also help out with development, etc

  8. Nick said, on February 29, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    I’d be glad to pitch in any way I can. I was just looking at google’s new site hosting options. I’ve been admin for a php site before, but other than that I don’t have a lot of experience in back end web work.

    Let’s get something up and going though. Right now anything is going to be better than nothing.

    Oh, I havn’t to date officially announced my intention of participating in this project. I think I’ll do that now. I’m excited, let’s make this thing huge.


Comments are closed.

