Musings on Photography

Image Ingester Pro

Posted in books, software by Paul Butzi on January 29, 2008

G9-080109-0370
Last night I bought a license for a copy of ImageIngester Pro, after reading the manual and deciding that it might make the process of getting image files off of CF and SD cards simpler and less error prone. (Simpler is nice. Less error prone is better.)

I’ve looked at similar software in the past and rejected it because it was always a matter of making my storage hierarchy match the one used by the software (and not the other way ’round), or because I didn’t quite trust the software for some reason, or because it was less than clear that the software had a future.

But IIP is wonderfully flexible, perhaps too much so – the manual is 82 pages long. Now, there’s a lot of ground to cover, and the manual is actually a fabulous job for a piece of software that is only $40. (the somewhat less capable version is FREE).

Anyway, my current process for ‘ingesting’ is:

  1. stick the card into the card reader
  2. open a file browser window and make it show the card contents
  3. open a file browser window and make it point to the place in my storage heirarchy where the raw files will go
  4. select all the ‘new’ images on the card, and drag them to the permanent store window, and wait while they copy
  5. fire up Adobe Bridge, navigate to the right folder, and select the ‘new’ images
  6. use the batch rename command in bridge to rename all the files using my naming scheme
  7. force a backup job to run to back up all the the images to the file server
  8. eject the card, put it in the camera, and format it.

If IIP lives up to its manual, my new process will consist of:

  1. stick the card in the reader
  2. fire up IIP and hit ‘start’
  3. wait while IIP does its thing
  4. take the card out of the reader, put it in the camera, and format it.

This is a considerable simplification, so I’m hopeful that IIP will live up to its billing.

If readers have had problems with IIP, this would be an excellent time to let me know that.

On the same lines as the IIP purchase, I also have a copy of The DAM Book on order. I’ve just seen it recommended in too many places by too many people to ignore it.

As you can see, I’m working hard to streamline my workflow from making exposures out in the field all the way through to getting the images edited and set into a book framework. Only 63 days to go before the start of SoFoBoMo.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin Doonan said, on January 29, 2008 at 10:01 am

    SoFoBoMo: the ultimate motivator for efficient workflow. I’m evaluating my process too, mainly at the back end of the book-making process.

  2. Doug said, on January 29, 2008 at 10:12 am

    I think that you’ll find The DAM Book interesting. At least in parts. Too much of the book is dedicated to discussing the intimate details of Krogh’s personal workflow choices, and he’s an Adobe fanboy (which I am decidedly not). And even the Adobe crowd will be a bit disappointed as the book was published pre-Lightroom.

    But if you skip over that stuff, the rest makes for a very thorough look at the various choices to be made in Digital Asset Management, and the consequences of each possible choice.

  3. Joe Reifer said, on January 29, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Have a look at the Image Ingester forum over on the DAM Book site: http://thedambook.com/smf/index.php?PHPSESSID=54f2ec0c95928770eaed943eb4735a42&board=25.0

    Marc Rochkind from Image Ingester regularly answers questions there.

    The DAM Book is definitely geared towards an Adobe – iView workflow. Which is great, because I have an Adobe – iView workflow. 🙂

    Cheers,

    Joe

  4. Dave Kosiur said, on January 29, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    I’ve also started to use Image Ingester recently. I didn’t bother to get the Pro version, since I didn’t need the added features. I switched from using Bridge because I now have two different cameras to deal with, and have set different preferences for each. But the plain vanilla version works like a charm.

    BTW, if you open the Image Capture app on your Mac, you can set Image Ingester as the preferred app to open automatically upon insertion of a card.

    As for Peter Krogh’s book, it was worth reading the book and I modified a few bits of my folder and image organization after reading the book. To find out more about what’s been happening since the book came out, it’s worth following his forum: http://thedambook.com/smf/index.php.

    Dave

  5. Dave Kosiur said, on January 29, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    I’ve also started to use Image Ingester recently. I didn’t bother to get the Pro version, since I didn’t need the added features. I switched from using Bridge because I now have two different cameras to deal with, and have set different preferences for each. But the plain vanilla version works like a charm.

    BTW, if you open the Image Capture app on your Mac, you can set Image Ingester as the preferred app to open automatically upon insertion of a card.

    As for Peter Krogh’s book, it was worth reading the book and I modified a few bits of my folder and image organization after reading the book. To find out more about what’s been happening since the book came out, it’s worth following his forum: http://thedambook.com/smf/index.php.

    Dave

  6. Wim said, on January 29, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    This seems like a nice prog, i’ll have a look into it. And good luck next month !

  7. paul mcevoy said, on January 29, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Doesn’t lightroom do the same thing pretty well? I hope so…that’s what I’m using.

  8. Jeremy said, on January 30, 2008 at 12:29 am

    I’ve always been happy with the way iView ingests images. On the other hand, I’m not so happy with how iView is developing on the Mac.


Comments are closed.

