Musings on Photography

Interesting Thoughts

Posted in process, the art world by Paul Butzi on January 31, 2008

5D-080124-4949
From an interview with the playwright Robert Schenkkan, author of The Kentucky Cycle and Handler:

Schenkkan’s personal connection to the places and people that inspire him are what make his works so vibrant. A Seattle resident for 14 years now, Schenkkan says he’s finding the northwest seep into his words. “John Boorman, the British Director, once said that individual happiness depends upon living somewhere where your internal landscape is mirrored by your external landscape,” Schenkkan said.

Since I’m endlessly fascinated by the interaction between our internal and external landscape I found that an interesting comment.

And on process, Schenkkan says

The process by which stories emerge is kind of mysterious. I’m not trying to be coy, but I also have not, to be honest, tried to examine that process too closely for fear that it might damage it.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Robert P said, on February 1, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Paul, gorgeous photo!

  2. Frank Armstrong said, on February 2, 2008 at 7:37 am

    Probably explains why I would rather wander the high plains and the high desert country mining for images. I once quoted Oliver Gagliani in an interview where he said something to the effect: I photograph in these old mining towns because they are familiar. It’s like I lived a former life here, and have returned with camera in hand. I understand that — there are places that are just more than familiar. Maybe Schenkkan lived in the northwest in another life…ya’ know?

    P’taker


Comments are closed.

