Musings on Photography

Geotagging with ImageIngester Pro

Posted in hardware, process, software by Paul Butzi on February 14, 2008

5D-060930-2872-600
This morning I connected my new GPS receiver to my Mac Pro, fired up ImageIngester Pro, and downloaded and geotagged photos I took yesterday.

It worked perfectly and seamlessly. Each image is tagged with a location, and the locations seem to be correct. All I had to do was tell ImageIngester to read the tracklog out of the GPS unit, and it did all the rest.

Especially interesting to me was that I just turned the GPS receiver on when I started the walk, stuck it in my pocket facing out, and then took it out at the end of the walk. No camera mount, nothing.

Pretty slick, if you ask me.

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gordon McGregor said, on February 14, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    it seems a much better option than something stuck on the top of the hotshoe. I’ve still to try it out, but want to work it out in the next week before I’m heading off on a trip.

    Not quite sure why I care to geotag my images though, it just seems like the geeky thing to do. Seen any good things to do with geotagged images ( other than flickr? )

  2. Paul Butzi said, on February 14, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    My plan is to start to routinely geotag images. There are a lot of times when I’m out wandering about and I come across a scene and think “Oh, I want to come back here.” And I take a photo, for future reference. Visual notes, as it were.

    Now it will be easy to identify exactly where, among all the spots I’ve been, a particular visual note was made.

    Maybe this plan will even work.

  3. Andrew said, on February 14, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    What gps receiver did you get?

  4. Bryan Willman said, on February 14, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Actually, it’s not necessary to spend effort (if there is any) applying the tags to the images. It’s only necessary to save the image time stamps and the related gps logs in some way they can be correlated later.

    Of course, if image ingestor does the right thing automatically, why not? But if you don’t use software that happens to do that, it’s no big thing, so long as you can save the GPS logs in an organized way, and sync the GPS and camera clocks.

  5. Sam Murphy said, on February 15, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Echoing Andrew’s question.

  6. Paul Butzi said, on February 15, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    What gps receiver did you get?

    without implying any suggestion that my choice (based on a large array of factors) is helpful for someone else, I got a Garmin Legend HCx.

  7. Gordon McGregor said, on March 10, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Based on your initial comments on geotagging, I gave it a go on a recent trip. So first off, thanks for the inspiration.

    I found it trivially easy to do, once everything was configured. Switch on the GPS. Take pictures. Connect GPS and CF card reader to computer – that’s all there is to it. I wrote a bit about it here.

    Another notion that I’ve started hearing is the idea of geotagging blog posts, using GeoRSS information. So if you write a blog post about a particular area or location, it can be found with the GPS co-ordinates in the blog information. Don’t know much more about this yet.


Comments are closed.

