Musings on Photography

Hanging

Posted in shows by Paul Butzi on March 8, 2008

5D-080223-5092
My calendar reminds me that I am once again scheduled to hang a little bit of show at Gallery f.5.6. I’m supposed to hang on March 30, which doesn’t give me much time to figure out what the heck I’m going to do.

Despite the fact that whenever I see “Show hanging” on my calendar it brings to mind Ambrose Bierce’s Present at a Hanging I’m actually feeling fairly calm.

There are lots of things I need to do. If I want to try hanging the show using my brand-spanking-new favorite size of 12×18 framed out to 20×24, I need to get off my duff and order up frames (probably Neilsen profile #97 in grey), matboard, foamcore backing board, and glazing, toot sweet, so that there’s plenty of time for the various vendors to figure out how they’re going to drive me nuts by not delivering on time. Fortunately the space is limited (I’ll have room to hang eight pieces) so that sets an upper limit on my anxiety – in a pinch, I’ll just pick 8 works I’ve shown before and have sitting around in frames and throw them up there to fulfill my obligation.

I’m thinking, though, that it will be all new stuff, shallow DOF things that I’ve done very very recently. That ought to keep me awake at night. If nothing else it will surprise people.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joe Reifer said, on March 10, 2008 at 10:33 am

    With 12×18 framed to 20×24, are you going to weight the mat? My standard size is 12×18 framed to 18×24 – the even 3″ border on each side makes every frame ready for vertical or horizontal images.

    Cheers,

    Joe


Comments are closed.

