Musings on Photography

SoFoBoMo – Lessons Learned

Posted in Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on March 24, 2008

5D-080314-5168

We have a week to go before SoFoBoMo officially opens. I’m looking forward to it with eager anticipation.

Since we’re about to begin, I thought it might make sense to describe some of the things I’ve learned from my SoFoBoMo efforts. This sort of analysis is usually done at the end (and I’ll probably do that too) but I thought I’d describe some of the stuff I’ve figured out in preparation for SoFoBoMo.

  1. Book Design – I’ve learned quite a lot about book design. Ok, maybe not a lot. Perhaps just enough to be dangerous. But that’s still enough to let me lay out a credible book.
  2. Adobe InDesign – not the most difficult piece of software to learn, and I can’t say that I’ve mastered it by any means. But again, I’ve learned my way around enough to be able to do page layout, place text on the page, number pages, and so on.
  3. Workflow improvements – I’ve spent time streamlining my digital workflow. Much of this was done by switching from downloading images from memory cards by hand (my old practice) to the faster, less error-prone method of using ImageIngester Pro.
  4. Geotagging – while not strictly speaking just a SoFoBoMo effort, I can now simply and reliably geotag photos.
  5. Getting tuned up visually – I’ve been avoiding making photos in situations too close to the project I have in mind, but I have been trying to get tuned up visually by getting out for daily practice with the camera. And in doing that, I’ve discovered that the daily practice can be a worthwhile activity as an end in itself.

Not a bad payoff for something which has yet to start.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. stpiduko said, on March 24, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    still haven’t decided what to shoot for the month

    might avoid people and try something completely different

    either way will be good to try something fresh

  2. postcardfromcaledonia said, on March 25, 2008 at 7:46 am

    Out of interest – what do you make of this competition?

    http://www.photographybooknow.com/

  3. Greg Coates said, on March 25, 2008 at 8:51 am

    Would you be willing to share the resources you’ve been tapping in order to learn book layout? I’ve been looking for some books or websites on this topic for quite a while, and I still haven’t really found anything I like.


Comments are closed.

