Musings on Photography

The end of angst

Posted in Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on March 29, 2008

5D-080314-5121
For the past week, I’ve been feeling stressed (in a sort of background kind of way) about my ability to deliver on the SoFoBoMo thing.

And then yesterday evening, I read this amazing post on Paul Lester’s blog. Titled ‘One’, it recounts how Paul made a SoFoBoMo warmup book.

He did a book. He did a book in 2 hours and 15 minutes. Start to finish, 12 photos selected from 100 photos made in one session. And he has a link to the book, so you can download it and look at it.

I thought I didn’t believe in heros anymore, but Paul Lester is now my hero. I am inspired. I can’t wait for Tuesday, I’m going to have to go out and try to do what Paul did – do a book based on one hour of photography time. How can I not? How can giving it a try be anything other than fun?

No more angst, thanks to Paul and his trailblazing.

I must go, now, and get my chores done so I can get out the camera.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Paul said, on March 29, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Paul, thanks for the mention. It was a great time. I think that the reason it worked so well is that I didn’t have time to procrastinate or over-think the whole thing. I just got the camera, went to the location, started the timer and became absorbed in what I was doing.

    When I returned home, I downloaded the pictures, got a bite to eat, then started the timer again. The decisions had to be instantaneous and there was no time for second guessing myself. I had to go strictly with intuition.

    So, it showed me that I can use Scribus. I can take pictures. I can make a book. 🙂

    I’m glad that it inspired you and removed your angst. Looking back on “One”, I think that my SoFoBoMo will probably be shot in an afternoon, perhaps, with the remaining time being used for editing, etc, but who knows …

  2. » Blog Archive » One II said, on March 29, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    […] to “hero” status by “Pope Paul”, AKA, Paul Butzi in this post entitled: The end of angst! I’m really glad that Paul got something so positive out of this. Again, cool! As you can […]

  3. Ed Richards said, on March 29, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    Great picture! Still handheld with the 100mm macro?

  4. […] attention for his 2 hours and 15 minutes project, which seems to have calmed down the nerves of Paul Butzi. Pauls book was really nice, especially considering the time he spend on it. I skimmed through some […]

  5. Paul Butzi said, on March 30, 2008 at 10:50 am

    Still handheld with the 100mm macro?

    Yes.

  6. Gary Filkins said, on March 30, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    After seeing Paul’s “One”, I realized I’d done little more than take Scribus around the driveway, never mind around the block. Seeing such a great example and realizing the time was almost past for a chance to stretch before the big run, I took on a siimilar project this afternoon.

    It didn’t go nearly as smoothly for me as it seems to have gone for Paul, but I now know Scribus a little better and am eager to get rolling in earnest on Tuesday! Folks can see my test run here — SoFoBoClock


Comments are closed.

