Musings on Photography

Day 3

Posted in Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on April 3, 2008

5D-080401-5240
Yesterday’s good photography hours were gobbled up by a lethargic start in the morning and other commitments in the evening. Some rearrangement of my personal schedule may be in order, here, although I’m such a creature of habit that I dread the idea. The morning period spent reading crud on the internet can probably be dispensed with altogether, and the morning dealing with email will probably get deferred until closer to lunch. Hmpf.

A quick review of my exposures from Day 1 does not cause me to jump up from my chair and dance with glee. What it does is make me think I need to get a lot better very quickly if I’m to have any decent photographs of the dog in the book. (Homework for tonight: careful review of what I’ve done so far, then an invigorating look at Debra Marlin’s books, just to show myself that it really can be done.)

Later this afternoon when the sun is not beaming down with quite the great vigor it’s currently using, Kodak and I will head down into the valley and try again.

I spent some time today working through the exposures, giving 9 of them the benefit of the doubt and a few minutes of photoshop treatment to see if things looked better after a bit of work. Naturally they look better but not by a whole lot. The big problem is not a dearth of technically acceptable exposures (although the weird light and fog made that interesting) but that I clearly need to just let go of preconceived ideas and make a lot of exposures. Lots and lots of exposures.

Life is short, the art is long, opportunity fleeting, experiment treacherous, judgement difficult. Fortunately, I have 4 weeks and exposures are essentially free. It’s time to get down to business and make a LOT of photographs.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Published April 4, 2008 SoFoBoMo Tags: SoFoBoMo, technique Paul’s post today touched a nerve with me.  I often come back from a shooting session with a shot count resembling […]


Comments are closed.

