Musings on Photography

Rain

Posted in Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on April 4, 2008

5D-080403-5292
It’s been raining all day today, and that’s made me less than thrilled to head out with the camera and dog. Instead, I’ve had a day spent indoors, doing rough photoshop edits of a number of the exposures made yesterday.

Many more exposures yesterday, although think I still need to be pushing for a lower threshold to set up and open the shutter. My general experience is that the more photographs I make, the more I’m likely to see the next good photo.

But after working through about half of the photos I categorized as ‘Not bad enough to reject outright’ I’m feeling a little bleary and ready for another cup of tea.

Some more observations:

  • These images will be presented in a format much smaller than the smallest prints I usually make. I’m laying out the book with a page size of 8.25″ x 8.25″, so the prints need to fit neatly into that size. So the size works out to, um, say it’s 5″x7″ or smaller. That’s pretty small. And now I’m worried that after years of making Big Prints I will suddenly discover that I can no longer make compelling small photographs. Even if I say to myself “Oh, don’t worry, we’ll make the physical book 14″ x17″ it doesn’t help because the PDF will be viewed on small screens. So now I will try to start adjusting things for a smaller print size. I guess I will perhaps make a bunch of prints with the photos at the projected size and try to leaf through the photos at that size and see what is working and what is not.
  • I am pretty bad when photographing things that move according to their own, unfathomable rules. And example of something that moves according to unfathomable rules is a dog excited to be out on a walk. That had better improve fast or I am in trouble.
  • Sooner or later I am going to end up taking a walk in the rain. I must find that box of really big ziplock bags.

Comments Off on Rain

