Musings on Photography

SoFoBoMo halfway day – rain, rain, rain

Posted in landscape, Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on April 15, 2008

5D-080415-5705
Today is the halfway point for my SoFoBoMo project. I wanted to head out yesterday, but it was just rain, rain, rain. And, although I’m sure I can protect the camera, somehow the prospect of being out in the rain just filled me with dread of the very worst kind. Today, though, it’s only been raining on and off, and Kodak insisted that if we didn’t go for a walk today he was going on strike, so we headed out in the morning, just to change things up.

Kodak insists that the world is a nicer place when it’s wet. Wet, he argues forcefully, makes everything smell better, taste better, and generally just makes it more fun. Today, for some reason, he was particularly interested in whatever I was interested in – several times he came rushing up to check out what sort of good thing I’d found (see photo above). “See?”, he’d tell me, “aren’t those leaves just a lot more interesting when they have water drops on them?”

And the interesting thing is that he’s right. If there’s one thing I’ve started to appreciate for the first time because of this project, it’s how much I like the landscape in and after the rain.

5D-080415-5663

When we got to the open field, Kodak raced gleefully into it, charging around with abandon. This scene reminded me of a stanza from Robert Frost’s “Two Tramps in Mud Time”:

The water for which we may have to look
In summertime with a witching wand
In every wheel rut’s now a brook,
In every print of a hoof a pond.
Be glad of water but don’t forget
The lurking frost in the earth beneath
That will steal forth after the sun is set
And show on the water it’s crystal teeth.

We’re at little risk of frost at this time of year here in the PNW.

There’s so much fun in looking at the landscape with the dog. There’s a new adventure around every corner. Kodak doesn’t so much lean back and observe the landscape, he just flings himself into it to see what happens. Mud, rain, tall grass, prickers – it’s all good. Different, certainly, but fundamentally good.

5D-080415-5728

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gordon McGregor said, on April 15, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    And the interesting thing is that he’s right. If there’s one thing I’ve started to appreciate for the first time because of this project, it’s how much I like the landscape in and after the rain.

    Sounds like the whole thing has been worthwhile, just right here.

    I like the first image quite a bit.

  2. Amy Sakurai said, on April 15, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    Today is the halfway point for my SoFoBoMo project. I wanted to head out yesterday, but it was just rain, rain, rain. And, although I’m sure I can protect the camera, somehow the prospect of being out in the rain just filled me with dread of the very worst kind.

    And yet here in Portland I’ve been begging Thor to make it rain again. As you’ve found out, rain makes everything better.

    Today is the only rainy day in the forecast, so I had to take a long lunch and drive into town. One ten-minute downpour was enough to make the streets shiny. Yay! (Too bad it didn’t rain early in the session… but some is better than none. Then I had to go back to the office.)

    I, too, really like the first photo. Makes you want to reach down and hug Kodak.

  3. Glen said, on April 15, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    I’ll trade weather with you.

    Down here in Santa Barbara we’ve been having nothing but sunny days while I hope for overcast of any kind.

    Of your two Kodak pictures this time, I think I actually prefer the second one.

  4. […] funny how little links grow into a chain. A couple of days ago I was reading a post on Paul Butzi’s blog in which he quoted a stanza from his favourite poem, Robert Frost’s Two Tramps in Mud Time. I […]


Comments are closed.

