Musings on Photography

SoFoBoMo – Day 16 – Editing

Posted in process, Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on April 16, 2008

5D-080415-5799
I’m back to the task of editing again this morning. I started by going over the crop of photos from yesterday’s outing, but finally gave up and wiped the editing slate clean.

What’s happened, really, is that my usual project creep has bitten me. I started out thinking the project would go one way, and the early editing reflected that, and now I’ve discovered that (as is usual with me) my ideas of what I want to be in the book have shifted, and the editing I did at the very beginning was just wrong.

Sigh. So now I am starting over. And since I think I still want to make a lot more exposures, and even visit a few new locations, I’m left wondering if starting in with the editing makes sense. Will I just discover that things have changed direction again, and have to start over again?

This is further complicated by the fact that it’s the process of editing that seems to help the direction of things gel. Without that, it’s hard to see how to make forward progress, because without the feedback loop I can’t make adjustments. I don’t want to go out, make another 500 exposures, and THEN go and re-edit the whole project. I want to keep making subtle steering corrections as I go along.

So plowing through all the images so far is frustratingly both something I need to do, and also likely to be effort I have to throw away over and over again.

Oh, well. The only way out is, once again, straight through.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gordon McGregor said, on April 16, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    So who was the idiot that decided all this could be done in a month, anyway ? Someone should make him try it!

  2. Anita Jesse said, on April 16, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    How about all us who leaped on board and said, “Sure. I can do that”?

  3. Rosie Perera said, on April 16, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    Sure, I could do it in a month if I went off to a remote island somewhere with no responsibilities, just my camera and my computer and access to electricity, but no Internet. The support from the SoFoBoMo community is great to have, and would be missed, but the freedom from procrastination opportunities would more than compensate.

  4. Amy Sakurai said, on April 16, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    So who was the idiot that decided all this could be done in a month, anyway ?

    *grin*

    “Who’s the more foolish, the fool or the fool who follows him?”
    Obi-Wan Kenobi to Han Solo


Comments are closed.

