Musings on Photography

3, 2, 1, Contact

Posted in process, Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on April 19, 2008

5D-080403-5289
It snowed last night. Serious snow. Kodak and I headed down into the valley this morning for an early walk, hoping to catch the snow before it melted. Not much left on the valley floor although we’ve still got more than an inch on the roofs and patio furniture.

But it was wet and boggy, and Kodak and I explored some new spots, which met with Kodak’s approval. It was quite cold but that didn’t seem to diminish our enjoyment, although for the first time Kodak was ready to leave when I was ready to go.

I spent more time today photographing things I saw, and less time photographing the dog in the landscape. It was good that I was inclined that way this morning, since Kodak insisted that he needed some quality time checking things out on his own. So far I have not had two walks with the same feel; it always feels fresh and different. Paula is out of town for a few days, so Kodak and I are left to our own devices. Perhaps another walk this afternoon, I’m thinking.

I know that some folks are wrapping up their capture phase and moving into editing but I am still very much engaged in making more photographs. Doubtless in about a week I’m going to be regretting that deeply. Just a few more walks and I think I’ll be ready to switch to editing full time.

Cs080419-1

Cs080419-2

Cs080419-3

Cs080419-4

Cs080419-5

Cs080419-6

Cs080419-7

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anita Jesse said, on April 19, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Perhaps it will turn out that Kodak is the guide and inspiration behind the project, rather than its subject. The creative process is full of wonder, isn’t it?

  2. Sean said, on April 20, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Speaking of snow, we’ve had so much dumped on us in east central Alberta, Canada, that I’m now officially trapped in my yard. At least until the snow ploughs make it out to the rural routes and I’ve got a feeling that will be a day or two away. Here’s hoping the power doesn’t go out.

    http://www.neutralhillsstills.ca/index.php?showimage=632

    So I’m reduced to wandering around my yard with the camera. Yay.


Comments are closed.

