Musings on Photography

SoFoBoMo Day 21

Posted in Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on April 21, 2008

5D-080419-5836
I woke up this morning to realize that I have only ten days, really, to get it all done. Ack. Looking at the schedule, the last few of those days are already filled up with stuff to do. Double ack.

So today has been spent on editing and tuning the images that make it past the first edit. In a little while, I’ll go and plop some images into the book skeleton I’ve got and crank out a PDF, just to convince myself that stuff hasn’t all broken while I’ve been busy with the camera.

I noticed, looking at the SoFoBoMo pipe that Gordon McGregor set up, that lots of people are wrapping up their photography phase and turning their attention to book layouts and such. I’ve been having a grand time following people’s projects as they go along. I’m particularly interested is reading as people start the editing and share the details of how they go about it.

And an example, I was fascinated by the process Amy Sakurai is using, using FotoMagico (which is slideshow software for the Mac) to work on image selection and sequencing. Cool. I may give this a try; it seems less resource intensive that printing up copies on the laserprinter and flipping through them.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gordon McGregor said, on April 21, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    eek. 8 days left. At least all I have to do is drop all of the pages in to the existing skeleton structure. It all works. It already generates pdfs. How hard can it be…

  2. Amy Sakurai said, on April 22, 2008 at 3:30 am

    Aww… I’m glad you think what I’m doing is interesting, Paul. I don’t get many readers of my blog. (Maybe it doesn’t help that my journal is configured to tell search robots to go away. I’m guessing that’s what messes up my blurb and timestamp for the Yahoo!Pipe.)

    Still, I think a good photo book should make a good slideshow… and shows are very easy for me to make and watch. Mac users could of course use iPhoto, which comes free with their machines and is nearly as easy as FotoMagico. I haven’t used Picasa, which is free to PC and Mac users, and I’m sure there’s lots of other free software for slideshows. Ease of use is important, though. I’m partial to FotoMagico because it’s ultra easy to do sophisticated and advanced things (although I don’t need to do any of that for this simple editing job).


Comments are closed.

