Musings on Photography

SoFoBoMo – Approaching the Finish Line

Posted in Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on April 26, 2008

5D-080420-6050

I am approaching the finish line, at long last. I put in a long day with InDesign today, although the sun was shining and the birds were singing. My eyes are tired, I am thoroughly sick of looking at the book layout, but it is almost (but not quite) there. This evening I made photos for the front cover and the back cover – I think the front cover one is in the bag but the back cover one – well, that one includes me, am I’m fairly confident what I did came out badly.

I went into the final book layout confident that I had the sequencing and the spreads worked out. About 20 minutes into today’s session that sequencing was out the window, I was busily resequencing, and an entirely new way of integrating the text and the photos had been started. Writing the text was a head banging experience. No, it was worse than that. It was so bad that every so often, I would imagine getting up from the computer and banging my head on the wall as a pleasant break.

Some lessons learned (and in some cases, relearned), in no particular order:

  • Working at the computer for too long without taking breaks is more tiring that I expect it will be. Every time.
  • After a day of working at the Mac Pro, my hands and wrists are carpal’ed out. My right hand and wrist are the worst, because the Apple MIghty Mouse is, in fact, just about the least ergonomic mouse I’ve ever used. To make up for this lack of ergonomics, the Mighty Mouse has a scroll rollerball dingus that I must clean using various dangerous liquids every week or so, or it stops working. In my not particularly humble opinion, this makes the Apple Mighty Mouse the worst mouse ever and an instrument of Satan. As soon as the replacement I will order tonite arrives, I will take my Apple Mighty Mouse, put it on the driveway, and run over it with the Subaru. And I will take pictures, and post them here. I have expressed incandescent hatred for things in the past, but my hatred for the Apple Mighty Mouse is not just incandescent. It is brighter than a thousand suns.
  • I had surprisingly little trouble getting InDesign to do what I wanted. The work of doing a book layout before my month started was time well spent.
  • I have made laserprinted draft copies, two sided. This is a nice way to get a feel of what the book would feel like in your lap.
  • I have also made PDFs. They look very nice. I am tentatively pleased. I will have to check out the Issuu thing, which seems like an excellent way for people to share their PDFs online.

I still need to do the covers, and then run through the book checking the text and layout details.

I am ready to be done.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anil said, on April 26, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Paul
    Definately do check out ISSUU. It is one of the neatest ways to share you book online. I uploaded a test book to Issuu and the whole process was painless.

    Anil

  2. Rory said, on April 26, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Yes, the Mighty Mouse is horrendous. I now happily use a Logitech G5 gaming mouse with a ‘Steermouse’ third-party driver: best mouse I’ve ever used.

  3. Sam Murphy said, on April 27, 2008 at 4:36 am

    What’s all this about text? What is there to be said???

  4. Adam Maas said, on April 27, 2008 at 8:13 am

    Yep, the Mighty Mouse is horrid. It’s not the worst Apple mouse though, that’s the infamous Puck from the B&W G3 and early iMac era.

    I like my Intuos3 mouse. It’s a nice, basic nouse that’s very comfortable and also happens to be a peripheral of my Intuos3 Tablet. Only downside is that you have to keep it on the tablet for it to work (An issue on my smallih 4×6 tablet, less so on the larger ones).

  5. Steve Carl said, on April 28, 2008 at 6:12 am

    HeyPaul, I had the same problem. Changed to a vertical mouse by Evoluent.com. I now use VerticalMouse #3. It has solved the . Took a bit to get used to but works great.

  6. Steve Carl said, on April 28, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Sorry, should be “it has solved the problem”.

  7. matt said, on April 28, 2008 at 7:00 am

    My MacBook is content to be hooked up to a rather anonymous HP optical mouse; it scrolls, you can right click with it, and it never needs cleaning. Apple has always made ridiculous mice.

  8. Frank Armstrong said, on April 28, 2008 at 7:09 am

    Rouge that I am (didn’t participate in the SoFoBoMo project preferring instead to make my own books) have pretty much detested just about any mouse that requires me to move my whole arm. For the past 5-6 years I have used Kensington’s Expert Mouse, and haven’t looked back. Yes, it is a “track-ball” but with a ball the size of cue ball with all kinds of neat programable features. Being able let my arm lay still and using only the light touch of my finger tips to control everything is much easier and relaxing. And one click changes it from right to left-handed and back again. It takes some getting use to, but once you get the feel of it, most want one. P’taker


Comments are closed.

