Musings on Photography

Restoration

Posted in whimsy by Paul Butzi on May 19, 2008

5D-060801-2539-600
The recent little hiatus was caused by a trip to Ashland, Oregon, to visit the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and indulge in wanton, unfettered playgoing. Three days in Ashland, and we saw 6 plays.

Plays seen:

  • Coriolanus, Wm. Shakespeare – Wow. This Shakespeare fellow had a serious clue. First time I’ve seen this play. Outstanding play, outstanding production. Wonderful.
  • Welcome Home, Jenny Sutter, Julie Marie Myatt – having heard mixed reviews we were eager to see this world premier. Great play, and a wonderful evocative production.
  • The Clay Cart, Sudakra – Very nice but I suspect I missed a lot due to the cultural impedance mismatch
  • The Further Adventures of Hedda Gabler, Jeff Whitty – Funny, in almost exactly the way Ibsen isn’t. Clever, over the top, but with a surprising amount of actual substance underneath the comedy. How can you not like a play that starts with the main character killing herself by shooting herself in the head? (Whitty is the guy who gave us Avenue Q)
  • A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Wm. Shakespeare – Long one of my favorites, I liked this OSF production. Everyone’s seen it over and over and the challenge is to make it fresh for those folks in the audience. This production had the audience in hysterics with the first three words, not an easy feat.
  • Fences, August Wilson – a fabulous production of a truly great play. This was the first time I saw it, and it may displace Jitney as my favorite of Wilson’s plays.

In addition to the six plays, we got a lot of good food, drank a lot of good wine, and had a wonderful time. The only downside was that the weather was just wicked hot.

I feel recharged.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amy said, on May 19, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Glad to hear you enjoyed Ashland, part of the beautiful State of Jefferson.

    Have you ever ventured to the Britt Festival in Jacksonville, OR? I highly recommend it.

  2. Paul Butzi said, on May 19, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    Have you ever ventured to the Britt Festival in Jacksonville, OR?

    Nope. It looks super and interesting and all that. But.

    The problem for me is that Ashland is a seven hour drive. So the Britt festival is about the same, give or take.

    Now, I can drive to Ashland, see six plays, drive back, and just barely pass the test of Ferguson’s Law, which states that you should never spend more time traveling to and from an activity than you spend on the activity.

    So for fourteen hours of driving I need fourteen hours of stuff. Six plays suffice, and if I throw in the drinking of wine and eating of good food I’m passing the test easily.

    So the Britt thing would work really well if I went and did five hours of watching performances a day.

    Now, it turns out I can watch five hours of live theatre and have a wonderful time. Five hours of concerts and I’d be comatose. Ok, five hours of live theatre and I’m comatose, but it’s a kind of coma I happen to be badly addicted to. Or maybe I’m just shallow.

    Obligatory confession: I’ve flown 1500 miles to see a single performance of a single play. There’s just no way that makes sense except as an expression of a serious love of theatre, or else a particularly fine madness. On the other hand, if you have a chance to see a play directed/developed by Mary Zimmerman and you only have to fly 1500 miles to see it, I highly recommend you do it. But it’s still a crazy thing to do.

  3. Amy said, on May 20, 2008 at 5:55 am

    Ah yes… five hours of live music would be a festival of a whole different kind. But being in Ashland submerged in the theater is definitely it’s own kind of joy.

  4. Andrew said, on May 21, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    Jealous! Did you go to Sammy’s Cowboy Bistro?


Comments are closed.

