Musings on Photography

Hosting PDF files

Posted in Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on May 29, 2008

5D-080407-5403-1

In her “I’ve finished” post, Sarah Ketelaars writes:

As i used Blurb to make my book i’ve had to make a word version (the Blurb pdf has a watermark) so i’ve made a version as close as possible in word and now just need to get it on the site. How do you make a link to a pdf? the images are on my website but not as a pdf. Sorry i feel like i’m always asking questions but i can’t work out how you link to the pdf.

Ok. This is a not uncommon problem for folks. You’ve got the PDF. You want to put it somewhere you can link to, so that you can share it with other people (and hopefully list it at sofobomo.org).

You have two basic options:

  1. You can put it up on the web in some place you control. If you’ve got a web site, put the PDF on your website and then just link to it there. That’s what I did.
  2. You can upload it to a web site that makes available. A lot of folks have used issuu.com. I did that too. It’s not hard, so don’t be afraid to give it a try.

In the future we’ll have some PDF file hosting arrangement for SoFoBoMo that will make this simpler. But for now, that’s the solution.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rosie Perera said, on May 29, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    It sounds like Sarah was also asking the question “how do I turn my Word document into a PDF?”

    If you buy Adobe Acrobat (the full version, not just the free Acrobat Reader) it can convert Word documents to PDF. I have that, so I haven’t explored the various free services out there that will do it for you online, or the free utility programs that you can download to do the conversion on your own computer. But if you do a Google search for “Word to PDF” you’ll find a ton of them.

    Anybody have any experience with any of these that can give a solid recommendation? How well do they handle documents with images in them, etc.?

  2. gordonmcgregor said, on May 29, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    I’ve used http://pdf995.com quite a few times with good success to generate PDFs. It appears as a standard windows printer driver, so anything you can print from, you can make PDFs from. It is free (pops up a web page when you use it as an ad, but I don’t print much so it isn’t very intrusive) and works well.

  3. Robert Hoehne said, on May 29, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Cutepdf does a great job as a pdf writer, the pro version will even do you page organising for creating books that you want to make yourself.

  4. Martin Doonan said, on May 29, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    pdf995 is great for generating pdfs. For a contiguous file (i.e. all one file) the basic print driver is really all you need. I was so impresed, I paid for the full version – just as good as Acrobat.

    If you want to link to the pdf instead of a flash reader form (like issuu does) I highly recommend scribd.com. They have a reader like issuu but you can also link to/download the pdf, too. scribd is also a much better site, faster and far less Flash involved.

  5. Martin Doonan said, on May 30, 2008 at 12:06 am

    pdf995 is really good if your file is contiguous (i.e. all in one place) – their print server does a really good job. I paid up for the full suite because I think it’s every bit as good as Acrobat but a bit fiddlier.

    As for hosting pdfs, I can thoroughly recommend scrbd.com. it has a reader similar to Issuu but also allows downloadingo f the roiginal file. Faster site, easier to use and no Flash, unlike Issuu. I published one at each and much prefer the scribd (for one I cannot log into Issuu from Firefox at home).


Comments are closed.

