Musings on Photography

(Nearly) Final Statistics

Posted in Solo Photo Book Month by Paul Butzi on May 31, 2008

5D-080419-5913
I went through and did an accurate count of the number of people who signed up on the signup thread. My count was 170 people.

As of this writing, there are 48 finished books on the project page at http://www.sofobomo.org/projects.html. I know of at least one more book that is finished but isn’t yet listed. I’m betting there’s one more out there, lurking, which will push it over the 50 book mark. That works out to roughly 30% of the people who signed up finished a book, which I think is just amazing.

I know of at least two people who have done more than one book and thus get a free print from me. One person (Bob Wong) did three books, which I guess earns two prints.

To say that all this exceeds the expectations I had when I wrote the signup post is massive understatement. I thought that, with luck, we’d get a total of 12 people signed up, and if we got three finished books, that would be pretty amazing.

UPDATE: fifty-two books fifty five books fifty six books

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Steve Dodds said, on May 31, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Phew! It’s 11.40pm in Jakarta and it’s done. pdf uploaded to issuu.com and everything appears to be ok. No, it’s not the greatest photo book ever made. Might be a candidate for the worst. But it was fun. Literally had to run around this morning to get the last six photos. Their glaring absence had been haunting for two weeks while I was stuck in endless boring advertising drudgery.

    I’m inspired to set myself other projects now. Maybe a series on Jakarta’s street food vendors titled ‘Meals on Wheels’

    Thanks for the brilliant initiative.

    Looking forward to next year.

    Steve

  2. rvewong said, on May 31, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    What’s this about “free prints”, had I known, there were at least, two more books in me. I knew I should have worked harder.

    On a more serious point, Many thanks Paul, especially for the organization and motivation.

    I know I also need to thank others.

    One that I know for sure, is Bernie Sumption, thanks Bernie.

    I would also like to add, that comments from anyone to anyone went a long way toward making this an enjoyable and worthwhile project for everyone.

  3. Bousbery said, on June 1, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Hi!

    Just a note. I didn’t sign up for the project, but, I did complete a book. Thanks!!!

  4. My Camera World said, on June 1, 2008 at 11:06 am

    I would also like to thank you Paul for starting the SoFoBoMO book project and encouraging us to see it to the end.

    I have looked at all the books and they are all great.

    I did find the version that were using the Issu format not the best to view them. maybe I missed the link on their site for the PDF version.

    The PDF version worked great because with a large monitor 1920×1200 I could expand to fit the screen. The Issu I could not figure out how to get bigger.

    Niels Henriksen

  5. Sean said, on June 1, 2008 at 11:37 am

    I got my 100 images done and edited. The book was half done, but then my personal business spiked and I blew the schedule. The problem with being self-employed is that I have to do the work when it’s there because it keeps me in groceries during the slow period. SoFoBoMo falls during one of my traditionally busy months, so I’m not sure if I’ll ever be able to do it unless I change careers. 😦

  6. Martin Doonan said, on June 1, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    Niels, Issuu don’t allow access to the pdf. That’s why I’ve gone with (and recommend) scribd.com.

  7. John Doty said, on June 1, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    Thanks Paul for the idea, the organization and the reason to actually do this. It was fun and a big learning curve – I have never had to pull together photos on a topic and try to make it coherent. Here’s to a better book next year.

  8. Chris said, on June 1, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    I finished mine, but haven’t uploaded it anywhere. Photos of the park around the corner from my house, in 6×7 format.

  9. Doug Stockdale said, on June 3, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    After our off line discussion, I’ve decided that my second book, although also made in the month of May, is not in line with my own SoFoBoMo goals. So I am not going to list it. But hopefully, it does create some greater value for others besides myself and a few others. And this just may be a good post on my own blog as I think about this;- )


Comments are closed.

