Musings on Photography

Printer Crash

Posted in equipment, hp z3100, process, Uncategorized, z3100 by Paul Butzi on June 9, 2008

5D-080607-6148
I’ve gotten little done this afternoon. I got sidetracked trying to figure out why my laptop (recently upgraded to OS X 10.5 ‘Leopard’) didn’t see my z3100.

After considerable fiddling about with network hubs, replacement network hubs, etc. it finally occurred to me to see if my desktop machine could see the printer. Ah, that’s actually hard to tell. Fiddling about with the HP apps to control the printer led to every attempt to launch the various apps resulting in the same app (Printer Utility) launching. Hmm.

So I went to the printer, and thought “I’ll just see if the PRINTER thinks it can see the network. And it said it was trying to get a DHCP address. Hmm.

Power printer down. Power printer back up. It launches into it’s power up calisthenics, complete with checking the filesystem for the disk in the printer. Hmm. Not normal. Apparently my printer crashed.

It takes a surprisingly long time for a z3100 to boot, especially if it has to run fsck on the filesystem.

As God is my witness, I am not a luddite. I have steadfastly advocated for improved technology in the world of photography. But when I can’t make progress on photography because my damn printer had a seizure, and it takes half an hour for it to power off and power back up, it makes me want to say really rude words.

Loudly.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rosie Perera said, on June 9, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    And switching to a Mac was supposed to allow you to stop wasting so much time on such computer problems? Ha ha ha ha!

  2. Rylee said, on June 23, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Just wait until your new internet enabled fridge crashes and spoils all your food.

    One day this will happen. I really believe it.


Comments are closed.

