Musings on Photography

Noise Ninja Profile for Canon PowerShot G9

Posted in Canon Powershot G9 by Paul Butzi on June 21, 2008

5D-061021-3009-600
Back when I got my Canon PowerShot G9, I immediately created a Noise Ninja profile for it so that I could use Noise Ninja on the images I made with that camera.

That was way back in September, 2007. At that time, I expected that PictureCode, the makers of Noise Ninja, would immediately release a really great, done by them set of profiles for the G9. Alas, the G9 seems to be a camera they are ignoring.

Recently, I noticed that a fair number of people were landing on my blog because they were searching for profiles for the g9.

You can download the profiles I created and use from:
http://www.butzi.net/download/CanonPowerShotG9.zip

Instructions on installing noise profiles can be found at http://www.picturecode.com/profiles.htm

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Read More… […]

  2. jobo said, on June 22, 2008 at 2:33 am

    Did you submit the profiles to PictureCode, if I may ask?

  3. Paul Butzi said, on June 22, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Did you submit the profiles to PictureCode, if I may ask?

    You certainly may ask. The answer is no, I haven’t.

    I don’t see any obvious way to submit them, although I guess I could just send them email. But if I were in their shoes, I wouldn’t accept submissions from outside parties. What if the profile was badly done, or worse yet, done in some malicious way? The stuff they offer on their website is offered with the stamp of approval. I doubt they’d want to put their stamp on my profiles.

    I’ll admit that I’m happy to share my profiles, but to be honest it would seem to make sense to profile cameras yourself. The profiling process is very easy and really doesn’t take very long.

  4. jobo said, on June 23, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    I’ve been sending in the profiles I created (for another camera); they evaluate them before putting them on the site.

    If you are happy sharing them with PictureCode, I’d rather have yours there than some random Joes.

    http://www.picturecode.com/profile_upload.php

  5. Mike Mundy said, on June 24, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Are you still actually using the G9?

  6. Mark said, on June 26, 2008 at 12:21 am

    I was surprised these weren’t available on the official site when I went looking.

    Thanks for posting these – I’ll give them a go.

  7. Jerry Bracken said, on September 28, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Thanks for posting these. I will give them a try. I found the owner of Noise Ninja to be a great guy. Maybe you could send him an email…

  8. Walter Arce said, on October 13, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    Thank you for your help with the G9 profile!

  9. Claude Martin said, on July 4, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    Thanks a lot for sharing You profiles… They work great and save a lot of times.
    Claude

  10. Usaku said, on March 6, 2010 at 11:31 am

    I know it’s nearly two years later, but I found this post via Google. The link to the profile appears to be broken – is there any way you could upload it again? I’d love to have the profile for my G9.

  11. Paul Butzi said, on March 6, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Sorry, the directory appears to have gotten renamed.

    Try this link: http://www.butzi.net/downloads/CanonPowerShotG9.zip


Comments are closed.

